We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Beautiful hotel with great service. Staff was professional and helpful with our toddler and dog. We particularly loved the dog run out back, have never seen that before in any hotel. We had never stayed on the North side of Kamloops before but will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to cater to all our guests, the four legged ones as well! The dog run is a great addition to the property that is not a common find with most hotels. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip through Kamloops.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    90
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
82
71
12
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
124 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were visiting people who live on the north side of Kamloops. For that, this hotel is very convenient. (Most of the hotels in Kamloops are on the Trans-Canada Highway, south of the Thompson River. This is one of the few that is north of the river.)

Overall, the experience was good. As others have mentioned, the rooms are large. Mine was very clean. The hotel was quiet overall, but I did experience a bit of occasional noise from people walking in the room above. (My room was on the 3rd floor). Others have had this experience too, apparently.

I don't agree at all with the reviewer who suggested that the area is rundown. It felt quite safe to me, even after sunset. It's certainly convenient to have a grocery store and a drugstore right across the street from the hotel. There are also several fast-food type restaurants nearby (Subway, Wendy's, etc) and a Starbucks.

The only negative was the Wi-Fi, which didn't work in the room. The person at reception finally suggested using the Wi-Fi from a neighbouring room (that worked), but really it should have been fixed the same day, rather than still being non-functional three days later, It might, however, have been a problem with the service provider, so perhaps it's not the hotel's fault.

I felt the hotel was slightly over-priced for Kamloops, but not significantly so. For me, the convenience of being on the north shore was worth the extra cost. If you don't need that convenience, you can probably find a bit better value for your money elsewhere in Kamloops. However, I would return, because of the location and because of a good experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We did experience some technical difficulties with our Internet a couple of weeks back and it took awile for our Internet provider to track down exactly what the problem was, and it has now been taken care of. I would like to assure all our guests that we are very competitively priced with other Kamloops hotels of the same caliber as ours, and we monitor competitor rates on a daily basis to ensure this. There is no question that lower priced accommodations can be found, but as always, the old saying that you get what you pay for is certainly relevant in our industry as well.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel and please ask for a room on the 4th floor for your return visit and we will do our very best to accommodate your request.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
336 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

In fact, the only downside here was the price we paid. Otherwise, we found great rooms, very good and diverse breakfast, helpful staff and amazing views over a city that seems to be forgotten in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us even if you found Kamloops to be "in the middle of nowhere" LOL!

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

While with a cycling group, I have had the opportunity to stay at this property for a number of years since it opened. Parking is plentiful and I have always found the front desk not only pleasant and friendly but professional and accommodating. The lobby is well appointed and hosts a great sitting area and small cafe. Rooms are very roomy and well decorated with upper end furniture, very comfortable beds and cozy bedding with a selection of pillows to make your sleep the best that it can be! Bathrooms are large and offer a beautiful decor and perfect for a great shower or bath.

The property offers a great pool and spa to rest weary travellers.

Although the location of this property is in a positive revival transition, the area offers a well lit parking lot and close proximity to a small mall and some fast food locations and banks. There is a new White Spot attached to the hotel for convenience which serves up full meals for breakfast and into the evening for dinner.

This is a property that well appointed, cared for, clean and totally enjoyable for any type of traveller!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YaleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
It is always great to receive such positive feed back from our guests, we truly appreciate it! We look forward to welcoming you again should you return to Kamloops.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week while my husband was in town on business. We had our 9 month old son with us. The suite was very nice, quite and clean. Staff are all very polite and friendly. The room service from the attached restaurant White Spot was nothing special, I would give the restaurant a pass. The area the hotel is in is across from a grocery store and another one just a 2 minute walk up the street. The other side of town where the Holiday Inn Express is, is a nicer part of town but they do not have any suites to stay in. Overall our stay was as wonderful as Holiday Inn could make it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that both the suite and the location worked for you. We have ten different room types at this location so a lot more options to choose from than many other properties offer. Thank you for posting and we look forward to hopefully having you as a guest again in the future.

Christina Lutterman
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well placed, just off the highway. Good parking. Quick, efficient and friendly front desk. Fair priced for the room. Good quality bed and furnishings. Quiet. Excellent breakfast included. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
We are so happy that we suited your needs. Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kamloops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Kamloops in Sept 2013 for one night which was long enough!!! I booked a one bed suite with separate living area. The hotel is in a really run down area and I would not walk around at night or during the day for that matter.

We only stayed at the hotel as it is half way between Whistler and Revelstoke.

The reception staff booked us in and I was really disappointed when we arrived at the room. It was really small and there were marks on the bed linen (not a good start). There was a fridge and washing up liquid so we had a drink before deciding what to do next.

I did not feel the bathroom was that clean so didn't like having a shower.

The hotel was expensive for what it was and I feel that they are banking on people expecting a better quality of hotel given the name Holiday Inn (however, what they expect and what they get are two different things).

The reception staff recommended an Italian restaurant down the road we drove there in the car and turned around. It was awful it looked run down and inside it looked like a works canteen.

We drove around and ended up having a meal at Dennys!!!!! not through choice as there was nothing else around the area unless you drove a good way back over the bridge to the main area.

We then went back to the hotel and left as early as we could the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
While some things are subjective, others are more factual and easier to define, such as room size. I would have to disagree with the description of of our rooms being small, they are not. All our rooms, regardless of wether they are standard rooms or suites, are spacious and quite a bit larger than an average sized hotel room. We also pride ourselves in our housekeeping and maintenence and receive a lot of compliments on it from our guests.
I'm sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. We are consistently ranked among the top Holiday Inns in Canada and work very hard every day to keep our ranking, and looking at a number of the other reviews I think they bear witness to the success of our efforts.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops

Property: Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops
Address: 675 Tranquille Road, Kamloops, British Columbia V2B 3H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > North Shore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing