We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and has everything a traveller would want.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Laundry facility and computer available for guests is a plus. It is near a big grocery store too. Very reasonably priced. Shower was safe with handles and slip resistant floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricJSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thanks for posting a positive review, we sure appreciate it.

Christina Lutterman
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Really nice hotel. Good service and great little restaurant. Shopping centre and some shops around and several other eating places. Only draw back is in the suburbs and area that it is in is not the best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Canada.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A modern, clean property as one would expect from the Holiday Inn chain. The front desk staff were courteous and helpful. Nothing memorable, but nothing wrong either. The only possible draw back is the out of the way location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thanks for posting. Our location is close to the airport and the down town Kamloops area and we are the only hotel on the North Shore in Kamloops. Easy to find if coming in by air or from the North but a little trickier if entering on the TCH. I hope you found crossing our beautiful river to get to us worth the extra effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding over the weekend. Should have stayed at the other hotel recommended.
Called the 1-800 number and used the code set up by the bridal party. Ended up getting a cheaper rate without using it. Paid over the phone in May. Checked my bank online to see I have a $250 charge. Called the Holiday Inn, and learned it's a deposit of sorts, would have been nice to been told that when I was booking, or even checking in. Now I'm waiting 3 business days for it to be reversed.

The room itself was nice, but really not worth the money that was being asked for it. Lack of included breakfast was a downer as well. The attached White Spot was nice, but there again, no coupons being offered for a discounted breakfast is unfortunate.

The small 'kitchen' area was nice, with the microwave and mini fridge, but I ended up unplugging the fridge as it kicked in every half hour and was super noisy. Would have taken a smaller room that didn't have a fridge and microwave for less money.

Awkward location as well, as the hotel is located on a divided street, but there is a back entrance if you go straight through the traffic lights. From what I heard from the locals, the hotel was also located in the seedier section of Kamloops.

Next time if I HAD to use a Holiday Inn, in Kamloops, I'd use the Holiday Inn Express by the airport and get the included breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the stairs, otherwise you'll hear the slamming of the door everytime so...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and I wish it would have been different. Rates fluctuate for hotel rooms much like airline tickets and it's driven by supply and demand. It is common practise to take a pre-autorization on check in for any incidentals and that pre-auth is released on check out if nothing has been charged against it. The delay in having the money accessible on the credit card is totally dependent on the bank it is issued by and out of any hotel's control.The only time we at this property take a pre payment is if the rate demands it as many discounted rates do. We do offer rates that include breakfast but as we are a Holiday Inn we are not allowed to include a complimentary breakfast with all rates, that is a signature and a requirement of the Holiday Inn Express, and one of the differences between the brands. The other is that as a Holiday Inn we have a restaurant attached, the Holiday Inn Expresses do not. I would also like to clairify that there is no Holiday Inn Express by the airport. We would be happy to explain the differences between the brands to avoid having anyone disappointed by booking a brand that doesn't meet their needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here because of good reviews on TripAdvisor. What a mistake. We stayed in a suite on the second floor. All night long there was a door slamming shut every few minutes. I did not sleep a wink. It was also a room facing the street so it was really loud. When I mentioned is to the staff they said "oh well we can't do anything about street noise". Agreed - but then perhaps don't put the family with two young kids in the loudest possible spot? They discounted my rate by 20 dollars because of the door slamming, but should have done much better.

This place is also really hard to find if you are travelling in from the West and not very convenient for staying if you are heading to Vancouver. Find somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Apull2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

So very sorry to hear you were disturbed by a slamming door. It is not clear from your review if you called our Front Desk and complained while it was happening, as we would have made sure the slamming stopped immediately. We are not used to hearing guest complaints in regards to street noise. My suggestion would be to request rooms that are located away from anything that can create noise going forward for guests that are sensitive.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Another Holiday Inn stay and it was a nice hotel with a good price point. Not to crazy about the location but we were there for only one night. They had a good restaurant that was attached to the hotel, The White Spot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thanks for posting. I'll check into the issue with the key coding and I apologize for the frustration a non working key causes. Good to hear that you did enjoy the hotel and your stay with us.

Regards,
Christina Lutterman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is easy to find but hard to get to as the entrance is in the 'back way'. Our room for 4 was plenty large, comfortable and nicely appointed. The housekeeping staff were prompt and courteous. The front desk staff person was a bit careless in programming our and other people's access keys. The location makes accessing restaurants quite easy as there are many within a short walk.

Room Tip: The one elevator is slow, so request a lower floor where you can use the stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thanks for posting a review. For guests arriving from the north we do have a"front" entrance as well but I agree arriving from the south one does have to drive around and come in from the "back" way as there is a divider on Tranquille Rd preventing a left turn.
I will definitely check with the Front Desk staff as to why there was an issue with the keys. The key encoder is working just fine so not sure what happened. It is fairly common that the keys get de-activated if they are close to a cell phone, so that could have been a factor as well.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites Kamloops

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 540
#6 of 54 in Kamloops
1,509 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops

Address: 675 Tranquille Road, Kamloops, British Columbia V2B 3H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > North Shore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: $113 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing