We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”
Review of Trans Canada Motel

Trans Canada Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trans Canada Motel
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We decided we wanted a place to stay in Kamloops that would be half-way between Calgary and Vancouver, but did not want to spend a pile of money as we basically wanted a comfortable room and a pool, but we were not expecting a four-star as we knew it would just be a check in, a swim and wake up the next morning and hit the road again.

The pool was one of the main reasons we booked this place as it was the only mid-to-low-priced motel that had a pool and was in Kamloops.

The pool was a huge disappointment as it simply was not open, just a dirty puddle at the deep end. The motel owner said the pool was closed because the motel people could not find any people to look after the pool, which was fine, but I think they should tell customers, either on the booking site or on the phone that the pool is closed as that was a key reason why we booked this motel.

This motel is very much in need of some upkeep. Everything is dated and in disrepair. The Friday and stove were from the 60s or 70s, the counters were old and worn out. The flooring and furniture were also quite old and dated. Surprisingly the bed was reasonably comfortable.

We were not expecting a four-star, but a three would have been nice. It was OK for a night, but would not recommend any more than one if all you need is an affordable overnighter.

We went for a walk and the motel next door and one further down had pools that were open and looked so refreshing on this 34 C day, so the story about no pool people available did not go over so well.

It is next to the highway, so a bit loud when larger trucks roll by.

Owner seemed friendly enough, but my recommendation would be look elsewhere if you can find something else in the same price range.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your needs in some ways. We’re involved in a continuous improvement process aimed at making the hotel better than ever before, and a lot has changed in the time since you stayed with us. I hope you will visit again and see how we’re getting better every day. You’ll be surprised by all the positive changes.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Terrible motel, do not stay here! Dirty room, dated, dirty coffee machine, swimming pool empty and dirty. Stayed for one night on the way from Vancouver to Banff, but will never stay here again, awful! Chose a motel next door or elsewhere, but do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1nga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. I sincerely apologize that we let you down and assure you that action is already being taken to make things better for the future. Your experience is not an indication of how we normally do business, and we’ll work to provide a more consistent experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kamloops hotels

Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Plugs falling out of outlets, Curtains with big holes in them, Tap on sink fell off, didn't give us an option to change rooms, furniture covered in water stains and filthy carpets. Swimming pool with no water just garbage. Who could want anything more??

Room Tip: Don't stay here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time as we've made many changes since your stay with us several years ago. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent price, spotlessly clean rooms, friendly management, comfortable beds, It's a little run down, but complete with all the services.. including wifi. We were only staying one night on route to Vancouver.. Excellent budget hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAns99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that we couldn’t completely satisfy you because the property was showing its age. We've made many changes and improvements since then. We take real pride in our hotel, and I apologize if we let you down in any ways. We want you to have the best possible experience here, and we’re working toward complete satisfaction of all guests.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHERWOOD PARK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Swimming pool was derelict and unusable. Buildings very old timber - all tired, set in an industrial area with the adjoining businesses all car dealerships.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank ANTHONY. O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

When we first pulled up we were a little nervous... but to our surprise it was a great stay. It was just a quick overnight stop so we could sleep and that we did. The price was beyond reasonable and the room was very clean! Bed was comfortable too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_198327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

we stayed there for one night and havent any reservation. So she gaves us finally the room for CAD 55 incl. taxes on a sunday. Thats really the cheapest u will find in kamloops. The room has fridge, microwave. The bathroom is fine, the room is very big and quiet and very clean! Wifi is excellent. A few minutes to downtown, no restaurants in walking distance.

Pool was out of order, no water inside. I will go there again, we just changed the hotel to kings motor inn because of the pool/hot tube, grill and breakfast.

Room Tip: room 16 in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0emi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Country View Motor Inn
#33 of 54 in Kamloops
185 reviews
Panorama City Centre Inn
#32 of 54 in Kamloops
26 reviews
Valleyview
The Ranchland Inn
The Ranchland Inn
#19 of 54 in Kamloops
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valleyview
Kings Motor Inn
Kings Motor Inn
#28 of 54 in Kamloops
111 reviews
Valleyview
Super 8 Kamloops East
Super 8 Kamloops East
#43 of 54 in Kamloops
81 reviews
Valleyview
Best Budget Inn and Suites
Best Budget Inn and Suites
#42 of 54 in Kamloops
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trans Canada Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trans Canada Motel

Property: Trans Canada Motel
Address: 2505 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 4A9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trans Canada Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Trans Canada Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing