We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for a basic motel”
Review of The Ranchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ranchland Inn
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Jeremy Janzen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good value for a basic motel”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here for a single night and it was a very good experience. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was acceptably comfortable. Wifi was functional if a bit sluggish. Breakfast was really basic but par for the course for this type of accommodation. The price was pretty insane at around $60.

Would stay here again if I was passing through Kamloops. No real need to spend more.

On more thing: behind the hotel is a really great park and school playground, perfect for kids to burn off some energy before bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    72
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
65
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nothing fancy here, but all we wanted was a clean, quiet, comfortable place to sleep on a road trip. We arrived late and left early. The rooms were only $60/might. The rooms look drab but they were clean. The breakfast is nothing to shout about, muffin, coffee, an apple, but we were there to get sleep, and it was comfy enough. I would stay again, if traveling and just needing a place to sleep. This motel would not be a fun vacation stay or multi-night destination. Stop and go. P.S. we are 100% sure we left a child's blanket there, and we called a few days later and they never did find it.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, they were identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A very simple, plain hotel, 5 minutes from Kamloops, okay for what we paid. Room was clean and comfortable, staff was pleasant and an okay continental breakfast. If you are not fussy, no problem to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We travelled for 1 month across canada staying in budget accommodation throughout. This was far and away the worst... Our room was grotty with stains on the carpet. There was a fridge in the room that I had to unplug as it sounded like a diesel engine. There were really rough looking guests drinking outside their room. They were so loud and intimidating that it was like walking into an episode of Cops. The breakfast was pathetic. Help your self coffee in Styrofoam cups and muffins cut in half and wrapped in cling film! This place gave us the creeps. As well as locking the door we put a chair behind it then left the next day at 7am. Worst dump I've ever stayed in after years of travelling.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gavin_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a layover in Kamloops due to tires needing replacement (at Nissan dealer next door). Was initially concerned because of the area being sort of industrial-looking. What a wonderful surprise. This motel was excellent, large rooms, usual amenities, very pleasant owners, very clean, continental breakfast available but no dining room available. Although next to the highway and train tracks, I found the room to be very quiet. (There was a background hum of cars on the road but not enough to disturb. Overall a great stopover at an exceptionally reasonable price. I have no reservation about recommending this motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This Motel restored my faith in accommodation, previous two nights in other towns were abysmal but this one delivered way above the price that was paid. Super clean and perfect location. Would definitely use again if I return this way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I was impressed by this low cost motel! Clean, tidy and comfortable. A bit dated - such as door keys rather than cards. New high definition flat screen TV's, but with low definition analog cable for a poor picture. The place was pretty much full, but very quiet. I was on the first floor, but not a sound from above! For less than $70 (plus taxes) per night, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeGee10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
2.2 mi away
Riverland Inn & Suites
Riverland Inn & Suites
#15 of 54 in Kamloops
331 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
949 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
3.3 mi away
Hotel 540
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,434 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranchland Inn

Property: The Ranchland Inn
Address: 2357 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 4A8, Canada (Formerly The Ranchland Motel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Valleyview
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ranchland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy moderately priced accommodations in a beautifully landscaped motel adjacent to a park. The Ranchland Motel is located on the East Trans Canada Highway just minutes from downtown Kamloops. Dine at the assortment of nearby restaurants. Take advantage of our golf packages for the many nearby golf courses or our ski packages for Sun Peaks which is just 45 minutes away. The Ranchland Motel is close to everything. We are adjacent to a park with a play ground and playing fields. We are a block from a shopping centre with banks-liquor store-grocery-drug store and restaurants. Downtown Kamloops is 5 minutes to the West. The Kamloops Wildlife Park is 5 minutes to the East. Kamloops is a town with 80000 people that bills itself as the Tournament Capital of Canada. There are many nearby golf courses as well as the ski and golf resort of Sun Peaks which is just 45 minutes to the North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ranchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing