We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Lamplighter Motel

Lamplighter Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamplighter Motel
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Port Coquitlam
2 reviews
“Overpriced”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I would not recommend this place at all. Room, though clean, was shabby and the entire facility is run down. Cleaning staff was friendly and pleasant, even when obliged to take on registration. The desk clerk, however, when he finally showed up, was very rude. On the same trip I stayed at two other places, one with a lower price and another with a price about $20 higher. Both were comfortable, pleasant, and well maintained. There is no justification for the price at this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
7
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here a couple of times in the past and were fine with the below small, plain and less than glamorous appeal for the cheap price. The people at the front desk are very nice, cleaning ladies are a little shy but will clean when you ask or leave at appropriate time. We made another stop there last month and stayed the night, I didn't do a thorough scan of the room since it was late and was tired. The next morning I got the room cleaned and came back to a clean room. I don't know if it was present before I checked in or if it arrived after cleaning but a needle (syringe) was by the bed on the floor. If it was there before i got it cleaned, then the thoroughness of her cleaning is seriously scary. We were disgusted and freaked out. Will never return, unfortunate but I wouldn't risk it with that negligence in god knows how many ways.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kamloops hotels

Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at the Lamplighter on our way through to Whistler. The hotel is located on a service road adjacent to the highway and tended be somewhat noisey but not to the point where we couldn't sleep. There is also a railroad track on the north side of the highway but again it did not affect our sleep. Found the rooms to be very clean and the carpetting appeared to have been recently replaced. The bathroom had been redone and had a very attractive backsplash around the tub and sink. Our room had a very comfortable king sized bed, microwave/fridge and there was a flat screen TV as well. There was an ironing board but no iron so assumed that you have to go to the front desk to request it along with the hairdryer. There is a good choice of restaurants and service stations on the service road which makes it very convenient in the morning when leaving. We found this hotel to be excellent value and would stay again if travelling through the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwithkids95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had stayed at this motel years ago, and I wasn't much looking forward to staying there again, but the sign outside said it had been renovated so we decided to try it.
While the bathroom was still very small, the entire room had been redone. The carpet was clean, new paint, new curtains and new furniture. There was a flat screen TV as well as a small fridge and microwave.

We got a room with a king bed, and it was very comfortable. On top of all this, the price was very reasonable for Kamloops in August. (The reason we didn't stay at the place we usually stay in Kamloops was that the price DOUBLED since our last stay there, which was in April 2011).

This is not a luxury accommodation to be sure, but for a reasonably priced modest motel, it was great. Because we were so surprised at the changes made to the Lamplighter - it may just become our "usual" overnight stay in Kamloops.

Close enough to all amenities, as Kamloops is a small enough city that anywhere is really only 10 minutes away - restaurants nearby for a quick breakfast too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallygirl277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I found this little motel to be a good value for the money. It's been recently renovated and updated. This is not a fancy place but I found it clean and easy to find (just off the Trans-Caada. It\s close to food,coffee shops and gas stations. The a.c. unit was very loud but worked great. My only complaint is the uncomfortable beds, my back hurt in the morning. There is no blow dryer but I always bring my own and the free coffee in the room is meager on condoments - but hey, I only needed a place for the night so no big deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sok30_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Country View Motor Inn
#35 of 55 in Kamloops
179 reviews
Riverland Inn & Suites
#17 of 55 in Kamloops
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valleyview
The Ranchland Inn
The Ranchland Inn
#20 of 55 in Kamloops
156 reviews
Valleyview
Super 8 Kamloops East
Super 8 Kamloops East
#44 of 55 in Kamloops
77 reviews
Trans Canada Motel
#42 of 55 in Kamloops
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Property: Lamplighter Motel
Address: 1901 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 3Z9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Valleyview
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Hotel Class:2 star — Lamplighter Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Clean rooms with AC - Refrigerator - Coffee Maker - Microwave - Free WiFi - Free Local Calls - Iron and Ironing Board - Kids playground. Within walking distance of Fast Food and Restaurants. 5 Minutes from airport and 10 minutes from Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lamplighter Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing