We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!”

Hoodoos at Sun Rivers
Ranked #73 of 342 Restaurants in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Beautiful views and rustic decor set the stage for an upscale casual dining experience, delectable meals and a superb selection of fine wines. We invite you to join us to experience our seasonally inspired menu where at the heart of each dish lies attention to detail and fresh and thoughtfully selected ingredients. We believe that you should love what you eat; our kitchen is your kitchen and we welcome menu modifications to suit your dietary needs. With a growing collection of cocktails, craft beer and a carefully selected wine program, the team at Hoodoos aims to deliver a memorable dining experience. Hoodoos offers scenic views of the City of Kamloops, while our private meeting room delivers the perfect atmosphere for any group event.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We were told about Hoodoos by our host at the B&B we stayed at, and we experienced exactly what we were told - and more!! The atmosphere was great and the food was even better. We got to sample some of their beers (which we were not charged for) and our waitress went out of her way to teach us about Canadian food. We loved it!! I had the Trout which is caught locally in Kamloops. It was a great experience, and a great start to our month long holiday in Canada. This restaurant, with its country decor and all, comes highly recommended!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mache C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    40
    18
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful view and good food”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

we love the view, good atmosphere. every time we go to Kamloops we need to stop for lunch @ Hoodoos and did I forgot to mention the food is good?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimiburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“poor organization, cold food at buffet”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were meeting friends for brunch and they phoned and made a reservation for 9:30. We arrived on time and found a posted sign that they had an Easter Brunch at 10 and Noon for $25, reservations required ( this hadn't been mentioned when reservation was made). The hostess seemed confused that we were there. She said we would have to wait until 10 but she could seat us and give us coffee. She put us in a corner with no view and said they were the only tables not reserved (funny- I thought we had reservations). We got coffee and waited for buffet to open. We couldn't see the buffet from our corner and by the time we were told we could go up there was a giant lineup. So much for being there first.
They quickly ran out of bacon and sausages in spite of knowing how many people had reserved. The guy doing the omelet station was working hard and doing a great job. They also had an eggs benedict station. I love eggs benedict but not here. They put a cold, untoasted muffin on the plate, put stone cold ham on it. The eggs had been prepoached and then dumped into warm water very briefly to "warm" them up, and then sauce on top. The result was cold and unappetizing. Didn't finish it. They were slow with coffee service, I guess they couldn't see us in our corner. When we left about 20 min before the Noon seating the bins were full of bacon getting cold for the next shift, too bad it was too late for us. Cost for two adults $60. I won't hurry back and I live nearby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brensher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Temporary Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recently having heard of Hoodoos having a Sunday Brunch, we decided to go and try it as there are only one or two others available. I was surprised that there was only an option for omeletes when it comes to eggs until the server informed us that salmon eggs benny were also available and MAN were they GOOD! Nice little variety of quality dishes to choose from ranging from cold cuts to gourmet dishes, well worth the visit and very reasonably priced. Let's not forget the fantastic view of Kamloops, the warm decor with elegant settings at upscale plush tables, perfect for even the pickiest of diners :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannieCade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“55th Birthday dinner was a success”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Will be back. Food, service, everything was truly wonderful. Keep it UP!! Nice to find a place so good in Kamloops.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetheloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoodoos at Sun Rivers also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Hoodoos at Sun Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing