We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm going to have to give this a " mixed " review .”
Review of The Keg - CLOSED

The Keg
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Center
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
706 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“I'm going to have to give this a " mixed " review .”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I still miss the " good old days " of the Keg n Clever. The salad bar was too die for ! Okay, on to 2014. The restaurant is located in the historic railway station. All the windows are totally covered with heavy, closed wooden blinds, making it very dark. If they turned off all the lights and opened the blinds, the natural light would make it better. Anyways, service started out good, but when the server got a big group table, he was invisible. The food came out a bit scattered. We did not get our Ceaser Salad til after the main course, and if I had not reminded him, he would not have brought it at all. Mistakes happen, I get it ! The food was excellent . Good thing, the prices are very high. Scallops and bacon are great. The ribs are very tender and tasty. Twice baked potato was good also. But, if you consider that 2 of us shared 1 appy, 1 salad, 1 entrée, 1 bottle of wine, and with a $ 10. tip the bill was $ 90.00 ( to put it into perspective, if you were a min. wage employee, like servers, you would have to work for 9 hours to earn 90.00 )
I can see the day, where the ' steak house ' is gonesville. just saying. maybe the younger generation think very differently. lol lol lol

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    18
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Reliably Good”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had tried to go to the Keg earlier in June but they were full. When leaving, the hostess had given us a coupon for free appies when we did come back. It had to be used before the end of the month. We had taken a visiting family member to the Keg last fall and she had enjoyed it so much she had sent us a Keg Gift Certificate for Christmas.

When she cam back for a visit, we dined again at the Keg, using both the gift certificate and the coupon. This time we had made reservations - for a fairly early dining hour (5:30).

Once again the food was excellent, and the service was great. While looking around at the other diners I realized it would be an excellent place to take business associates for a private, casual dinner. Highly recommend the Keg in Kamloops.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Cucumber Collins”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Arrived late in Kamloops off Rocky Mointaineer chose to walk into Kamloops.We were not disappointed the steaks were excellent,the service was top class and the cucumber collins divine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank william78Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We returned to The Keg Kamloops after a trip to the Rockies. The steak which comes pre seasoned was excellent, our group also had the 2 lobster tails with baked potatoes which was cooked to perfection. Our server was attentive and, the manager Dennis was very interested in us and, whether we were enjoying our meal. The meal is good value for the excellent quality of food received. The surroundings in the restaurant were comfortable and well maintained. There is a lift available which was great ds one if our party is disabled. Overall an excellent experience and meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Took my aged mother here for steak and lobster as that was what she had a hankering for. Service started out pretty good and then dropped off.
I thought the lobster was rubbery. There was one fellow -a manager of some sort perhaps, who was going around smoozing at the various tables but he didn't ask us how we were doing.
Just because you have a table of older people, doesn't mean you can ignore them because you think they don't tip well. Doing that grantee's you will not get a good tip.
The steak and potatoes were very good

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing