We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit old fashioned but good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maverick Motor Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Maverick Motor Inn
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a bit old fashioned but good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Right by the highway for easy access. It is a bit old fashioned (metal keys for doors, etc), but it was clean, and also good value. The attached Beijing restaurant gets mixed reviews so we did not try.
The kids loved the water slide and the (rather small) indoor pool.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if this is an issue, book a ground floor room. Also, the valley view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I'm very happy you felt your family received good value for your money at our property. I am glad that your kids had a great time in the pool.

Our housekeeping team was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the clean room.

We are fortunate to have a great location just off the highway and close to other businesses in the city.

Although I personally enjoy the Beijing Restaurant, everyone's tastes are different. I hope you found a nice place to eat while you were here.

Thank you again for your review. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    136
    39
    9
    7
See reviews for
114
95
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Was a very clean facility & the service was excellant with restaurants close by. Turned the wrong way on freeway so took a little longer to find. would stay agian if in Kamloops. We arrived earlier than the check in times and the staff was very acommodating. Had a very restful & comfortable sleep .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review.

I am very pleased that you found our hotel clean, comfortable and restful and that the service you received was excellent. We are happy to accommodate early arrivals whenever possible. Our team at the hotel was pleased to read your review.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice place with a great view of the city. Clean with nice bedding. AC worked well on a sweltering July day. Walking distance to go eats. Like every hotel/motel in Kamloops it is near a highway... morning traffic seemed quite loud to a country boy like me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_L_Edmonton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Maverick.

I am glad that you found your room clean, comfortable and in good working order. We are very fortunate to be in a central location that is close to shopping and restaurants for people to walk if they choose.

Noise level from the highway can be subjective, depending on how sensitive you may be to it.

Thank you again for this lovely review. I look forward to seeing you in the near future, when your travels bring you back to Kamloops.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Me and my family were stopping over for one night on our way to Vancouver and chose to stay at maverick motor inn for the night. It was such a good choice! The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable and a great view of the city. A quaint town in the hills of Canada! The bathroom was clean and the service from the receptionist was great. Affordable accommodation right near a Chinese restaurant. The only suggestion is that the flushing system in the bathroom was not good enough and actually got clogged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azntourist001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

I am very glad to hear that your family enjoyed your experience here at the Maverick and that everything met with your expectations; the price, cleanliness size of rooms, comfort of the beds and of course the view of the city.

I do apologize for the toilet not operating as efficiently as usual, thank you for informing us. We have fixed the problem.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Receptionist was very friendly. She replaced our room immediately after we asked (because of the air-conditions engines). Rooms are very big and clean. Beds are the most comfortable we ever had. Water stream was strong. The view from the room is perfect and there is plenty of parking place. Location is great and there is laundry room as well. Most recommended!! One point for improvement is breakfast as there is no egg of meat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n699fjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. The "Perfect stay" heading and the perfect score says it all.

Friendly, clean and comfortable is the very thing we strive for here at the Maverick Motor Inn and I am very happy we met with your expectations.

Our continental breakfast is well documented on internet sites but we will take your suggestion under consideration.

Safe Travels and hope to see you again when you travel back to Canada.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Everyone talks about the great views of the Maverick Motor Inn in Kamloops and needless to say they are great. So let me focus on the service and the rooms. When I called I asked for a standard room and then when I questioned further about whether it had a microwave we were offered a kitchenette complete with a galley kitchen with utensils and cooking and eating supplies.

It was a very good room, clean and comfortable, and yes, it had a great view of the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful - set apart in a different building across the reception patio.

There are a few things to note about this Inn. It has a great library of movies for all age groups – you can rent them for a nominal fee. The other noteworthy item is that our room had one packet of coffee and when we asked for some decaf for the evening we were told that it cost $1.00. Just something to note. Additionally, there was a sign in the galley kitchen alerting us that it was our responsibility to wash the dishes and if we did not we would be charged a fee.

Room Tip: Be prepared for extra fees if you want more coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

I am pleased that your entire experience was a good one. We, at the Maverick, pride ourselves on the friendliness of our front desk staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. My entire team was very happy to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay.

I am glad you enjoyed the selection of our continental breakfast in our breakfast room.

The videos are definitely a bargain at just $2 per movie and we do have a wide selection for all ages.

The encouragement sign for people who use the dishes in the kitchenette is standard in the hotel industry.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our property. We hope to see you back on your next trip here from Florida.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was very impressed with this Motel. The room was huge, spotless, beds comfortable and we had a terrific view over the town, plus they included breakfast. The best value for money motel on our Canadian trip. I highly recommended this Motel if you're staying in Kamloops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Maverick. The fact that you will continue to recommend us makes it special.

I am very glad that you enjoyed city view your room and your stay in general.

We are privileged to have spacious rooms. Our housekeeping team works hard to provide a clean comfortable room. We do try to keep a quality product at an affordable rate.

Have a safe trip home and I hope to see you again in the near future.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Accent Inn Kamloops
#11 of 55 in Kamloops
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Motor Inn

Property: Maverick Motor Inn
Address: 1250 Trans Canada Hwy W, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 6R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maverick Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality that's affordable. Every one of our 42 attractive and comfortably appointed rooms come with Queen or King sized beds. Rest and relax in the comfort in our spacious standard, kitchen or family rooms. Jacuzzi rooms are available for romantic getaways or simply pampering yourself overlooking the unobstructed panoramic views of the beautiful Thompson River valley. . Our modernly furnished rooms have air-conditioning, LCD TV, VCR/DVD combos, a fridge, iron and board, hair dryer and complimentary WiFi. Start your day with our complimentary continental breakfast and enjoy our many amenities which an indoor pool with an waterslide, hot tub with a view and our on-site restaurant. Senior's, group & corporate rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maverick Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Motor Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing