We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk right past this place!”

Lakeview Restaurant
Restaurant details
South Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Walk right past this place!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

In all of our years of ordering breakfast while traveling this has to be the worst! With sincerity and concern for patrons I'm being honest about our experience. My husband ordered a meal that consisted of french toast with your choice of meat and style of eggs. I ordered french toast with bacon. When we received our meal there was a distinct odor of what I will say was old cooking oil or something of the like. Our meals were undercooked and only barely warm. You could see where the egg had not quite made it across the bread and the so called meat/bacon didn't even look real. In fact, it was like pulling on rubber to eat it. Two bites into my toast I told the waitress mine was cold and my husband said the same but since he was so hungry he opted to just eat the unappetizing eggs etc. He too opted not to eat his french toast. When my meal returned exactly as I had received with the same bites out of it only slightly hotter the waitress said, "Sorry but this is the style of our french toast." I said, "This isn't about the style this is about it being cooked and hot." It was not busy at all, only three tables with people ordering, maybe that should have been a sign. They provide on each table Aunt Jemima syrup in its store bought container which looks tacky enough and I suppose that they are trying to do everything on the cheap. Within an hour both my husband and I were being reminded constantly of our meal, not in a good way. If this place hasn't been health inspected, it should be and I would fire the cook! Please head the warning, great view from the window which is nature made but what is made inside is not worth the price you will pay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    40
    57
    43
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plumber needed!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I brought his two sisters from the Ottawa area to Harrison for a visit. We decided to have lunch at the Lakeview Restaurant because of the view and it did not look too "pretentious" of a place. But, the service was slow - friendly though. The food was average. Unfortunately, there was a major problem with the plumbing and customers are asked to put ALL toilet paper into the waste basket, of course it smelled terrible in there because of this. Come on Lakeview Restaurant owners - HIRE A PLUMBER!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 300Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quickly lost our appetite............”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We thought we would stop in for breakfast but quickly lost our appetite. Everything looks clean and tidy in the sitting area BUT they have waste cans for USED toilet paper. I think it would serve them well to hire a plumber. Found a great place for breakfast around the corner. Will not return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good view”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Good view, good service, but food overpriced. If you catch the breakfast buffet with the omelette chef, SHE is cool!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The fish and chips are huge and shareable. Just get that and share and price isn't so bad. The other food was okay, but it highly recommend the fish and chips. The service was good too.
They have a discount coupon for this restaurant if you visit the visitors center in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 677Erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeview Restaurant also viewed

Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 

Been to Lakeview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing