We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great”

Lakeview Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Maple Ridge District Municipality, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

It's way overpriced for just average food. Go somewhere else for better value.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    53
    40
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ridiculously expensive bad food”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Greasy spoon diner priced like a good restaurant, fish and chips was mushy. Chips were supposedly home made but obviously not and the kitchen didn't look very clean. also very hard to explain what we wanted as our server didn't seem to speak english

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really great halibut”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were heading to Morgan's Bistro based on the reviews posted on Tripadvisor by others...but it was closed for the season. It was pouring so we ducked into the Lakeview. Definitely a diner atmosphere, which I often like (see my review of the Hilltop Cafe in Langley). Unfortunately, I didn't love this place. It was ok. I think if they had better fries (hand cut perhaps) I would highly recommend the halibut and chips, as the halibut was really, really good. We shared a caesar salad as well, which was fresh. The service was ridiculously fast - it wasn't busy - but I think our food came within 4 minutes of ordering...it was crazy. In any event, the server was friendly and the food was ok. I just wouldn't go back as I like a bit of a cozier feel, and this place didn't have it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BraveTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Better you should eat at a gas station!”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Lakeview Restaurant was crowded with late breakfast customers when we waited for a table, which should have been a good sign. Instead, both the food and the service were deplorable. The staff spoke only minimal English and we had difficulty communicating our order. We asked for "whole wheat toast" and the waitress kept asking "Brown?" As we waited for our food, one of the waitstaff brought a plate with an incorrect order back to the kitchen; we watched staff members eat food off this plate with their fingers. My eggs were overdone, the bacon was as limp as a shoe lace and the hashbrowns appeared to have been barely heated in a microwave rather than fried. Her cheese omelet was flat and overcooked. Coffee refills were hard to obtain and we asked for our check but had to go to the cashier in order to get it. The view of the lake is delightful but better you should see it from the promenade outside than to waste money in this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FatherSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NEVER eat at this place. WORST meal in my life almost”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Little open this time of year so not much choice in Harrison. I had the roast beef and it was worse than a bad TV dinner.
The sliced beef was straight out of the microwave and believe me subway sandwich beef tastes better. The mashed potatoe was smaller than two golf balls and when I questioned the waitress she said that was just the portion size. The microwaved veggies in a small pot were celery and carrots and hadnt been ruined as they were not cooked apart from microwaved.
This was a truly awful meal.
My sons had an oriental rice bowl with chicken which was plain boiled rice with chicken in teriaki with the same celery and carrots. This was not worth the money either, sad case that the owner was oriental and this dish was pathetic. The only good meal was the fish and chips that was fresh and tasty.
Morale of story. Eat carefully here. This is just a cafe and not restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trashercan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeview Restaurant also viewed

Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 

Been to Lakeview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing