We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High hopes... Underwhelmed”

The Hungry Chef Pizzas & Craft Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the heart of picturesque Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia, The Hungry Chef Pizzeria and Craft Beer Eatery, a family run business, prides itself in providing guests with a memorable experience inside our inviting dining room, or on our covered, heated outdoor deck. From preparing our own dough to using local vendors from the region, our commitment is to deliver great tasting pizzas in a warm and inviting West Coast inspired wooden decor.
Peachland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High hopes... Underwhelmed”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I ordered the cod burger, which was ok.... Bland fish with a bland sauce. I added lemon, which gave it some flavor.
My husband had the Philly cheese steak. It came on a whole wheat bun that was very hard, and possibly stale. The meat was very gristly, and there were more peppers than meat.



    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlepearhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    84
    20
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Hot Springs, Canada
1 review
“Yum!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ordered pizza to share, even though I wasn't in the mood, to accommodate the tastes of my 6 & 4 year olds and was pleasantly surprised. One of the best specialty pizzas I've ever tasted. Highly recommend the food. Service was okay but kitchen was super-busy so we were warned of long waits by our server and noticed a few tables were slow to get they're entrees. Nice layout and kid friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trek72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food and nice patio.....”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Patio area, very friendly and prompt service. Located away from the main street facing the lake. Tried the cod burger with yam fries and pasta with meat balls. Both were good. Average style portions, no garlic bread or extras were provided as indicated on the menu. Inside decor is casual and minimal. Wide selection of items on the menu which all sounded interesting....kids menu available.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SW929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
“Hungry for something new”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The food was very good and liked that you could sit on the patio

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Once was quite enough.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This restaurant/bar looked good from the outside, down at steeet-level .. with its dark wood colouration and almost cabin-like structure and presence. It seemed to blend in well with the natural backdrop of trees and mountains. But inside, it was plain and stark, and looked and "felt" more like a cafeteria. It was quite a shock when we walked up the stairs and entered, we had expected so much more.

We (a threesome) had read the menu posted outside, and it looked 'ok', and we did like the look of the place from what we could see from outside. Once inside though, we found it warm (temperature-wise) and the ambiance not very inviting. We almost flipped a coin as to whether to stay or leave, but decided we would stay and give it a try. We ordered one of their 'large' pizzas to share.

The pizza arrived rather quickly, and we soon found out why. The pizza dough was uncooked and 'gooey' inside!!!

The pizza looked like something that had been previoulsy made, frozen and then heated up. The veggie and cheese toppings were overcooked, the crust undercooked. We each tried a little, then looked at each other, and agreed that was enough!!

It was returned, and because we did not have the time, or really wish to try again, we left.

Thanks to our server - it was not her fault. She did good, the kitchen did not.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank johnny2bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Chef Pizzas & Craft Beer also viewed

Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 

Been to The Hungry Chef Pizzas & Craft Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing