We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Food Quality” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laughing Goat - CLOSED

Laughing Goat
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Despite the potential for a great eatery; decor, attractive menu etc, the food we selected, the Daily Special, a sirloin steak (for me) and duck breast for my wife were very disappointing. Steak seemed to be a thawed pre-frozen package, very tough, and the duck badly cooked and mostly inedible. One would normally expect "specials" to be just that in a positive way. I don't think we will return to that restaurant in a hurry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gourmet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Salmon dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent Salmon dinner with all the trimmings, reasonably priced. Friendly service in historic building with wooden floors and warm inviting accents.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnotebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Find a better place to eat.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have no idea how or why this place has so many good reviews. The waitress was really nice, and the chicken fingers & fries were good, but the hamburger tasted like it came out of a box of frozen Safeway burger patties. Spongy and full of fillers, not exactly beef. It was supposed to have goat cheese on it but it was only 1/4 teaspoon of cheese, seriously. I laughed out loud when I saw the "smudge" of cheese! The Chicken Andouille Gumbo soup didn't have any of the ingredients in it's title in it. Blech.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T-Advisor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Food was really good and nice patio out back... we had the place to ourselves... as it was Monday afternoon, however would highly recommend it!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deedums_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent food! My friend had the rib-eye steak and it was perfectly cooked, very tasty and juicy. The clam chowder was delicious as well and a must try is their creme brulee. Service was very good as well. A must stop in Harrison.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Goat also viewed

Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing