We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anybody here ever had REAL Thai food?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunyam Thai - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sunyam Thai
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
1 review
“Anybody here ever had REAL Thai food?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is NOT a Thai restaurant! Even if it wants to call itself one, the food is not.

First of all, the main ingredient in Pad See Ew is soy sauce, not fish sauce. Secondly, Thai food should have SOME heat & flavour, no? Pad Thai was bland, just awful. Prices here would suggest a decent serving plus quality food. However, grabbing a dog from the corner store & nuking it would have been more rewarding; at least we'd have expected garbage!

On the bright side, the patio is fantastic. Good music, great view & very relaxing. Should've just knocked down the Thai beer & grabbed some food elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bangthetable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Paul
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good food, long wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed the food but the wait was excruciatingly long. It was around 40-minutes. By the time we go the food, we snarfed it down so we could get to our next event.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“First Class Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was a bit of a gamble booking this restaurant, but it paid off in spades. The menu was varied the food excellent, freshly prepared and so tasty, and the service first class.
A great outlook from the patio over the lake!
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys Asian food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gourmet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was the second time we have eaten here and I highly recommend the food. We usually do a visit once a year to Harrison and from now on we will also be returning for dinner to the restaurant. Owners are very laid back and friendly

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Food was very flavourful and service was good. View over lake was awesome. Very quiet that day, so hard to rate service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunyam Thai also viewed

Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing