We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice owners, but noisy and over-priced”
Review of Glencoe Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harrison Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencoe Motel
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This small motel is across the street from the public hot springs pool and two blocks from the lake edge. The place has been renovated fairly recently, but in a rather unprofessional, plastic way. The rooms are quite large and have comfortable beds, nice bedding and a good flat screen TV. The place was clean and there was a microwave and fridge, but no utensils at all, so that we had to go out and buy plastic forks, spoons, bowls etc. The second night of our stay a large group of young adults came to stay and made a lot of noise. As the owners lived on the premise, they must have heard the noise, but did nothing to stop it. We finally went out, about midnight and asked the young people to be quiet, which they were, so it's not as if they were threatening or hostile, just a little excited and inconsiderate. The place welcomes dogs, and as we had our little guy with us, that's a big part of why we chose to stay here. The price seemed very high at about $150 a night, considering that it's a rather older place with few extras. It wasn't horrible, the owner was quite friendly, but I wouldn't stay here again unless there was nowhere else available.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Westcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgment, Manager at Glencoe Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Common Sense Rules

1. If you want quiet. Do not arrive on Canada Day.

2. Do not complain about FREE: the use of microwave, sink, toaster, fridge, electric tea kettles and coffee makers in our rooms are complimentary. The price of rooms in Harrison during high season reflect that Harrison is a tourist/resort town and as such, prices in summer are structured to support businesses during the 6 months of high vacancy. Accommodation prices will be what they are with out FREE anything. Count yourself fortunate to have found a room on Canada Day that accepted your dog.

3. Keep in mind that Glencoe Motel is in the business of renting rooms with beds. Please do not expect to arrive to a fully stocked kitchen or a table laid out with the things you expect to find at home.

4. I assume that comments relating to renovations done being un-professional (in a plastic way) were written by the same disgruntled person who ate from plastic bowls with plastic forks and spoons. In Harrison we have a lot of excellent restaurants that use real cutlery and will gladly supply you with plastic cutlery and napkins for "to go" requests.

We are sorry that we could not accommodate your tastes in room decor. Art is subjective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2011

Beautiful individually decorated rooms and located really close to the beach and shops. There are only 11 rooms so book ahead! Room #6 has parking right alongside the door which works well for guests with mobility issues. Even though the outside looks like a regular motel, new owners (I spoke to Stephanie) have put a lot of labour into revamping the rooms, including custom built cabinets that maximize floor space so you don't feel cramped. Each room looks like a 'country cottage' style B & B complete with a fireplace. You can view each unique room on their website. Great value!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyfromVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The friendly personal service of the owners/staff was the icing on the cake. The rooms are very large (Room 6, at least) and are even nicer than the photo leads you to believe. I stayed here and walked to the pricey Harrison Hot Springs Resort for dinner and dancing, a block and 1/2 away. Even though on the exterior it looks like a well maintained 50's roadside motel, the rooms are modern with large flat screen tvs and even a heater/mood fireplace (again Room 6). Good and safe for singles, couples, groups (Room 6 sleeps 5 easily). Coffee shop and breakfast etc cafe right across the street and the public hot springs pool is next door. The lake is a block away. Many nice hikes in the area (Hicks Lake & Bear Mountain are 2).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanfananywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Good for the price. Close to the lake but should include the kitchen for the price. The staff are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will come back for the price. Ask for a renovated room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ro1man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Harrison Beach Hotel
Harrison Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
562 reviews
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Chilliwack
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hot Spring Villa Hotel
Hot Spring Villa Hotel
#5 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harrison Spa Motel
Harrison Spa Motel
#3 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
3,655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harrison Village Motel
Harrison Village Motel
#7 of 8 in Harrison Hot Springs
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe Motel

Address: 259 Hot Springs Road, Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia VOM 1KO, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Harrison Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Harrison Hot Springs
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing