We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day to the past history”

Fort Langley National Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the excitement of the early West Coast fur trade at Fort Langley and stand in the spot where BC was proclaimed a British colony in 1858. Explore the scenic fort—built by the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1827—where fur traders once exchanged furs, salmon and cranberries with the First Nations. Fort Langley is packed with interactive displays and activities for the whole family – watch blacksmithing, barrel-making or historic weapons demonstrations, pan for gold and laugh along with an interpretive program!• Take exit #66 (232nd St. North), just 40 minutes east of Vancouver• Open daily year round. September to June 10 am - 5 pm• Sxwimelә Boutique and Gifts• Full Barrel Cafe (summer)• Free parking• Walking distance to Fort Langley village shopping, museums, walking trails and dining. See our daily programs and events calendar online.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Always so interesting to see how our ancestors managed to gain a foothold in a wild and desolate place. We stand on the shoulders of those who came before us.

Thank Jayeson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We're glad you had a nice visit - it sounds like you connected with a real sense of place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 251 of 372 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

WE really enjoyed the look at life a century ago. It was affordable and lots of room for kids to run. I had been here as a child and brought my grown daughter as a way to pass some time. Will take the grandchildren some day.

Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks for visiting! Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Fort Langley National Historic Site doesn't sound all that enticing to begin with, but it's great. They've got the balance between education and entertainment just right.

First, though, my top tip - don't go on an off-season week day. If it's winter, during school term, go on a weekend. There'll be much more going on in terms of demonstrations and talks. Also, it's best to go when it's not raining (!) because there's lots of great stuff outside and you have to walk outdoors between displays.

We took an outdoorsman and frontier history fan; and a three year old. One wanted to glean as much fascinating information as possible; the other wanted to run and jump. It worked out pretty well, but we did have to take turns with the run-and-jumper so as not to miss out on too much interesting stuff. She liked walking on the bastions and running across the big lawn; trying on bonnets and voyageur hats; and playing with an old-fashioned doll.

The staff are quite incredibly knowledgeable - they seem to know the answer to every question you can think of, no matter how detailed. The demonstrations we saw included cooperage - how to make a barrel - and blacksmithing. Both were pitch-perfect in terms of keeping a diverse audience interested and engaged.

What I loved was that you could touch things, pick things up, feel things and play with things - so much less stressful than the usual museum visit with a small person. It's also very photogenic and the attention to detail in the reconstructions is wonderful. I'm quite excited at the thought that my daughter will probably take school trips here when she's older.

Thank rahvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks for sharing your tips and experiences. We're happy to hear you enjoyed being able to interact with the props, now that we have removed all the ropes/barriers to let you really experience life in the fort. Nice photos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Can't believe I have lived in Vancouver for almost 40 years and not visited Fort Langley. It was the grand kids that finally got me there. Took the two of them for the day and what a pleasant experience. The site is very authentic and geared to kids. The staff is extremely friendly and they give interesting, informative presentations. You can pack a lunch or buy your food there in the log cafeteria. The kids loved it and so did my wallet - the price of admission is a bargain.

1  Thank FormerlyYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to review our site! I'm glad it was a fun experience for you and your grandchildren!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great place to visit on a sunny week end. There is a small farmers market during the summer months. Great place to bring the kids and a picnic lunch.

1  Thank maccharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlangley, Public Relations Manager at Fort Langley National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your review, do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Langley National Historic Site also viewed

 
Langley, British Columbia
 

Been to Fort Langley National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing