We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud Bistro”
Review of Beatniks Bistro

Beatniks Bistro
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Fort Langley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A current version of our menu is available on our website
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loud Bistro”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a group attending "Grave Tales" at the Fort in Fort Langley so we wanted to have a bite to eat prior to the event. I had been there once before, in the summer, and enjoyed the outdoor patio and ambience. Since we are now in October we seated inside for this meal. The atmosphere and decor is funky, the food was decent but what sttod out for everyone in our group was how loud it is inside the restaurant. It is a small area with relatively low ceilings and there were around 40 diners while we were there an it was impossible to have a conversation with anyone other than the person right next to you. My partner and I each had Cioppino which was clams, mussels and bread. Mine was fine but my partner got a bad mussel which kinda spoiled the meal for her. Overall, the one memorable thing about this place unfortunately won't be the food but how loud it was. Perhaps, if the owners are aware of the noise level, they should drop the background music which everyone was talking over.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobCurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    117
    20
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
417 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Great local spot with a cozy room, good food and service”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lazy Saturday afternoon, drifting around doing errands, we decided to head to Ft Langley and realized as we parked that we were getting hungry. We've eaten in half a dozen Ft Langley places over the years, but never at Beatnik's Bistro so we took a look. In warm weather the big patio has lots of tables & chairs - but this Fall evening they were only serving in the cozy inside room. The high ceiling (not expected from outside!), wrought iron chandeliers, fireplace, and lots of B&W photography give it a tasteful but cozy feeling. The tables are not quite in keeping with the rest - a small quibble. We shared a Caesar salad (generous on the garlic, dressing was just right), I had the cioppino (primarily mussels) with a baguette & melted blue cheese - very tasty - and a Beringer chardonnay. My companion had braised short ribs and spring vegetables - the short ribs were good, excellent sauce - the meat a tad on the dry side, and he had a couple of beers. Finished with some tea - the bill (including tax, before tip) was just over $70. BTW, the room was packed (only one table empty) and with everyone talking it can be noisy (as a previous reviewer wrote) but we thought that added to the ambiance. The manager is the granddaughter of the woman in the photo over the fireplace: nice to be in a locally owned spot. Very friendly service, cozy room, tasty food, good value: we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loud and lovely”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Tiny bistro in Fort Lanfley, good energy, friendly staff. The onion soup was rich and very hot. I had carpaccio, my friend had salmon sandwich. Crusty bread.

Lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank baloovancouverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Love this place, its quaint, great food, and cozy, outside refreshing, and comfortable. They have taken one of the old homes in Fort Langley and set it back so that the front has outdoor seating. They have updated with great style. Lovely place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BabsX8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
541 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not a relaxing lunch place”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Although the food was very good, the ambiance was not when we went there for lunch. The noise level was unbelievably high from a group of young people. When we asked the waitress if she could ask the group to quiet it down a little she said she'd ask their waitress to do so but none of the staff ever went over to do so. We had to shout to talk as did everyone else in the place and left with headaches from the noise. We will not return and I doubt if anyone else who was there at the time will either. Too bad as it could be a nice place if the staff made an effort to accommodate all of their patrons, not just a small minority.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveller604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beatniks Bistro also viewed

 
Langley City, Langley
Cloverdale, Surrey
 

Been to Beatniks Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing