We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regional park Camping”
Review of Fort Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Langley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Camping
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked a full hook-up site for 3 nights in the off season. Sites were spacious and shady. Trouble was it rained. It always rains when I go camping. There's a pool and a kids playground. It's actually a very nice kids campground. Just a walk away from the attractions of Fort Langley. The museums and the charming antiques places, crafts and restaurants. Well placed if a little expensive. Only con is the proximity to the railroad. OK if you are a good sleeper.

Room Tip: This is a camp ground, they assign you a spot according to your needs, no picking and choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logjam2650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 82 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Fort Langley Brae Island Campground recently. The positives were: more than friendly staff, incredibly awesome clean washrooms and long hot showers ($1 = 5 long minutes), electricity & water at site, wifi if afforded ($5 day or $14 week), security (fob to enter), grounds people every day working continually, ice cream, coffee, hamburgers etc on site, pool was great for kids, lots of activities in barn for kids, novelty go carts for rent, good for families (won't see the kids - they'll be busy entire day), propane fill on site, did load of laundry on site, full amenities - we loved all of this.
The only issue we had was the fire out at 11:00 pm - strictly enforced. So.... it was raining most nights - like downpour rain... and we couldn't warm up. Even our propane fire can wasn't allowed to be on. They told us this was GVRD rules but also said they don't want people up past then sitting around a fire... well, that's part of our camping enjoyment. Plus it was so cold and we just had to go to bed at same time as kids. The campfire adult time is the best for us to relax and we couldn't do that.
Also, not a lot of privacy if you seek that. no trees between sites. kind of awkward. The trains run continually all night and are extremely loud. Wasn't able to sleep well at all.
Not sure if we would go back ... mainly because of fire out at 11pm. ps: they also patrol continually till 3 am which is a good security measure but definitely no fire.
It's a good place if you have an r.v. but if you are tenting and there is torrential rains with no fire at night... it's a bit miserable.
Kids had a great time, adults had a great time till 11 pm lol!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The activities for the kids gave mom and dad a good break and time to enjoy some peace and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful, and even offered to help me with loading my firewood. Cable TV hookups were a bonus for those nights where it was a little too muggy for outdoor visiting. We'll be back, but not before stopping for firewood... 7 bucks a for a small bundle was kind of steep, but it is what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Moobys37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Brae Island Campground. The sites were tiny but we made it work. Most of the tenting sites were very rocky as well but we had a tarp to place under our tent. We were happy when we arrived and were told there were no campfire bans.
The washrooms were always "clean" and comfortable to use. The private shower stalls were a bonus and the water was nice and hot!
The store on site was great and we didn't find the prices too expensive either.
We walked into town a few times (nice and close!) but were not able to check out many stores as we had our furry friend with us.
We liked the fact that we had a water tap on site as well and an electrical plug (which we didn't use).
There were lots of events planned the August long weekend we were there, a nice pancake breakfast one morning as well, FREE!
All in all a good campground and we will most likely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

As close to the wilderness as you can within city limits. We have 3G so didn't pay for wifi but would if we wanted it...what's free anymore? Great location, close to city but we can stay in our own rig. Yes, privacy is not guaranteed but at quiet time it's quiet. Pool is great, all activities are great. We have been twice and will return. I felt staff on shift could have been friendlier but they did their job.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jmrloewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is our third time here and I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a non party site. Great place to relax, go fishing, walk into town or just hang out. Other than the pay WI FI the price for a full service site is reasonable. It would be nice to be able to pick a site when booking online.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank rosslynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortCamping, Director of Sales at Fort Camping, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Fort Camping! We have been working really hard on improving the Fort Camping experience and deliver all the great programs our campers have come to expect from us!
Due to the number of trees, metal RV's and trailers on the long strip of Island we have, WiFi is a challenge for our location. We have brought in a 3rd party provider in order to get usable WiFi service on the Island and are subjected to their rates and billing options. We do supplement the cost, but it still requires our guests to have to pay a small fee for access at their individual sites.
We offer free Wifi at and around the camp store so there are options for our campers to not pay for the service.
We encourage people to take a digital detox while enjoying the camping experience but understand that its not always possible to do that. As soon as the technology is available, we will be upgrading!
Kristina
Fort Camping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not happy with our camping experience here . For being on a treed island, one would think that the campsites would be treed and private.

No privacy, we were up against the fence next to the busy gravel road coming in and out of the campground.
Had to pay extra for wifi :(

Room Tip: Be advised that these sites are not private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Langley
3.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Langley Hotel
Sandman Signature Langley Hotel
#6 of 11 in Langley City
189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandman Hotel - Langley
Sandman Hotel - Langley
#8 of 11 in Langley City
100 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Langley Inn
Best Western Plus Langley Inn
#2 of 11 in Langley City
391 reviews
12.1 mi away
BROOKSIDE INN Boutique Hotel
BROOKSIDE INN Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Abbotsford
405 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Langley
Days Inn & Suites - Langley
#1 of 11 in Langley City
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Camping

Address: 9451 Glover Road, Fort Langley, British Columbia V1M 2R9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Langley > Fort Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Fort Langley
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Vancouver's family camping resort located 45 min from downtown. Escape to Fort Camping in Brae Island Regional Park within walking distance of the historic Village of Fort Langley. We are a family oriented park and cater to a variety of different campers ranging from large RV's and small tenting sites, to large group camping areas and family tent cabins. Lots of fun for the whole family. Full Hookups, tent cabins; hot showers; laundry; supervised children's activities; heated outdoor pool; concession, & camp store, playground; near museums, antique & craft shops, canoe/kayak/bike rentals (seasonal); dining & golfing; weekly, monthly & seasonal rates available; Visa, MasterCard, debit cards; pets on leash; CP 24 hrs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing