We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wendel's Bookstore & Cafe

Wendel's Bookstore & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Fort Langley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Wendel's nourishes hungry minds and bodies as an independent bookstore and fresh-food café. The café lavishes readers with a menu of fresh fare made in-house that eschews preservatives and accommodates dietary needs with wheat-free, dairy-free, and vegetarian options. An outdoor patio puts patrons in prime reading, people-watching, or espionage-conducting position to enjoy local scenery along with breakfast selections such as organic blueberry pancake and omelettes. Lunch and dinner selections span hand-held bites such as the chicken-and-avocado wrap and heartier dishes such as wild-salmon-and-asparagus salad. Coffee and espresso creations range from lattes and cappuccinos to mocha frappes and are brewed with beans from local roaster Moja Coffee and water from the local fountain of youth.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
448 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Always Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I've been coming to Wendel's for Coffee and Lunch for 15 years and the quality and selection is better every time I go. Whether a local or a visitor, Wendel's is the perfect slice of heaven with local and socially conscious food, and a fairly good selection of gluten free items as well. It's definitly busy - especially on the weekends and in the summer, so expect a small indoor or outdoor table and sitting close to your neighbours. But definitly go - never disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lysmekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    82
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I had lunch at Wendels last week and was very pleased with the staff, the set up and the food. Great little place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My sister brought me here for a belated birthday breakfast. It was packed, but well worth cramming ourselves into a corner. It was very yummy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CdnJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparwood, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

When I lived in Langley, Wendel's was a regular breakfast and lunch spot for my family and I. They have great gluten free meal options, as well as a cooler full of desserts! Their pies are yummy and the nanaimo bars are too. There is often a line up out the door but it is worth the wait! The food is fresh and there are some great drink choices. Sometimes it is difficult to find a seat (especially with a stroller!!) as it is a small space; however, there is outdoor seating options.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had it not been for other reviews, I might have passed this place up. Walked in and the line up was to the door. Good sign. It's a small spot with not a lot of seating and what there is is a bit crowded. There is seating outside if you are lucky enough to grab one. We were. It was a beautiful sunny day and as I said it was very busy.

Ordered the chicken avocado wrap and a blt, both of which came with a side salad. You had your choice of dressing. We choose the honey ginger something. Oh my, was it deliciious. So was the wrap and blt.

The coffee was good but I would not recommend the iced tea. It was very watered down and barely had any taste at all.

As I said we were able to score a seat outside so it was a nice relaxing lunch in what is a very busy little spot. Didn't really pay that much attention to the inside as I was busy standing in line and trying to decide what to order.

I would come hear again for the sandwiches. For the two of us the bill was about $28.00.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fanfare50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wendel's Bookstore & Cafe also viewed

Fort Langley, Langley
Fort Langley, Langley
 

Been to Wendel's Bookstore & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing