We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint seaside cafe”
Review of Genoa Bay Cafe

Genoa Bay Cafe
Ranked #1 of 115 Restaurants in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the tranquility of picturesque Genoa Bay on Vancouver Island, about 1 hour north of Victoria and only 20 minutes from Duncan, the Genoa Bay Café has rewarded guests with one of the most delightful dining experiences in the Cowichan Valley.
manitoba
1 review
“Quaint seaside cafe”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Yummy clam chowder
The service was friendly
A great island find for lunch
We enjoyed walking in the duck after lunch to see the boats

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tealangel199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    121
    21
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Afternoon on the Deck”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We recently shared a lovely afternoon at GBC, having taken the Greylag Boat across from Cowichan Bay. Lovely local wines, and fresh, sensational seafood appies awaited us! Sitting on the deck and looking over the marina, the wine, food and conversation flowed. We're going back in 2 nights to celebrate an anniversary in similar fashion. Highly recommend both the boat ride and the Genoa Bay Cafe for fresh, delicious local fare.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubbsietubbsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our experience in the 6 times we've eaten at the GBC has been very enjoyable. The management has accommodated our canine friends while not violating any by laws, the food is fresh and wonderfully prepared, the service is attentive but not over-bearing or too familiar. We take our Island guests there for a memorable experience. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch, But!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I have been to the restaurant twice in the last 6 weeks, our first visit was by car for brunch, great food, and good service a fun event! We were told of the shuttle service from Cowichan Bay and planned a future visit, which we did 3 weeks later. Do not recommend the dinner menu, both our meals were unacceptable, Apies great, if you go in the evening we suggest regular lunch specials, burgers, fish & chips etc, marvellous calamari. The shuttle service is lots of fun.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angelfishtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tasty fare with flare”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were treated so well from the moment we arrived. We were lucky to have a warm evening and sat outside. We were brought a complimentary starter and then had burger/chicken the 'normal' pub grub so we thought, but no! This was presented very well and the flavours were excellent, we enjoyed it immensely and THEN got a complimentary 'new' dessert, just a light affair with fruit and cream all in a wonderful glass. We were all happy that we found this place in such idyllic a setting - please go you will be treated to a treat!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genoa Bay Cafe also viewed

Duncan, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Genoa Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing