We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and pleasant staff”

Dog House Restaurant and Take Out
Ranked #10 of 112 Restaurants in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great food and pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had a great breakfast served by a very pleasant waitress early Sunday morning. Food was tasty and well prepared. Would definitely go there again. Interesting history also that you can read about on the walls near the entrance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dougMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    127
    48
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“TYPICAL FAMILY RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had breakfast there one morning. We both ordered the typical bacon and eggs. Everything was made exactly as ordered but the hash browns were tasteless. The service was good and the staff friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vdl2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stopped in for a quick lunch. It was very busy with a small line up, but the wait was short. No surprise why the place is so popular - good food, healthy portions, pleasant and quick service, and very reasonable prices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2fromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went for lunch here one day after being told it was a great place to eat. Unfortunately I can't agree. It was busy, i can say that. Our hopes were high when we saw there were a good number of people in the restaurant. I'm tall and my husband is a big man...we found the seating uncomfortable, fixed bench seating of the sort one would find in a diner. The waitresses were great, the best part of the experience.

We decided to try basic diner food, the fellow had a Rueben sandwich with fries and I tried the fish and chips. Everything was mediocre, frozen fries, a gravy that was greasy and tasted off. My husband commented it would have made the meal inedible if he'd not asked for it on the side. My fish ...ok. As already mentioned, we were disappointed the fries were of the frozen variety...to me a restaurant that doesn't do their own should be ashamed.

All in all, we were not happy with the meal and won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank straygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Treated like family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating one or two meals per day here for the ladt three weeks.I have not been even slightly disappointed on any one of these meals.They seem to always be busy but have not had to wait long for a table.large servings of food along with good service . A real winner

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weinner2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog House Restaurant and Take Out also viewed

Duncan, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Dog House Restaurant and Take Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing