We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist, but friendly, nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was in town for two nights and wanted a place walking distance from a dinner party I was attending. The one room + bath arrangement is a decent size, with minimal frills, but was nicely kept up and very clean. The TV is a new flat screen with lots of channel and the WIFI was reliable and fast (and included). The air conditioning unit is modern and quiet.

The staff were very helpful and friendly - I got effusive apology for keeping me waiting all of 45 seconds at check-in. I wish all the places I stay were that service-oriented.

NB: There is no iron or ironing board in the room, but there is one in the laundry room near the office that is free to use.

I did not get a chance to try the restaurant located on the same property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Northquarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Room was quite large and clean. Bathroom was also very clean. There's a fridge and microwave in the room. There's a local diner next to motel, also Wendy's and McD close by. We walked from motel to see the totem poles. A fair distance to walk but not bad.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were in Duncan for a music festival and are beyond our tent camping years so sprang for an inexpensive motel. This one had good reviews on TA so we booked two nights. We were impressed by the staff (thank you, Maureen) and our room. It was sizeable with one queen bed, desk, table and chairs and a mini-kitchen with microwave and fridge. But best of all, the bed was new and comfortable and the room was incredibly quiet. It is a block away from Highway 1 and there was (we found out when their bus pulled up) a lacrosse team staying there. Neither one bothered us in the least. We don' often have reason to stay in Duncan but we will book here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the highway. Nothing to differetiate except upstairs or down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprite62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our 7 women cycling group stayed two nights on our way up the island. Owners, Maureen and Martin are fabulous. Very friendly, accommodating and ensured we were looked after. They take pride in the place. They have owned it for two years and it is evident they want all their guests to be happy and have a great experience. They are very helpful in recommending places to eat and see. They are a credit to the area. All hotel owners (and any business owner)need to take lessons from Maureen and Martin on how to run their business. They are truly passionate in what they do. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Like other reviewers, we decided to stay here because of the great reviews. Looking at the motel from the street it's not somewhere we would normally be compelled to stay at. The owners were wonderful and very helpful when we checked in. You can tell that they really want their guests to be happy. While not fancy, the room was clean and fine for what we needed. You also can't beat the price!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Riders4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

is not coated in sugar, but offers a very pleasurable experience nevertheless. Very charming owners have refurbished this motel, and although it doesn´t claim to be the Ritz, it meets most customers´ needs, particularly in this price category. Go there and check it out - you won´t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in this motel because of good reviews by other people. It was an excellent place to go. Nothing fancy but clean, helpful owners and very reasonably priced. Would stay there again if we need a place in Duncan. The restaurant on the property was also great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
1.8 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
28.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Falcon Nest Motel
Falcon Nest Motel
#4 of 6 in Duncan
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Duncan
Super 8 Duncan
#5 of 6 in Duncan
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motor Inn

Address: 5849 York Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 3S3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range: $77 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Motor Inn is centrally located in the Cowichan Valley; an easy walk to downtown Duncan, the Cowichan Sports Plex, and across the street from the Cowichan Theatre / Rec Centre / Aquatic Centre.We are 40mins north of Victoria (BC's Capital) and 35 minutes south of Nanaimo (The Harbour City) which makes us the perfect stopping point after travelling from the Washington State Ferries, BC Ferries, or the airports.We are close to the Chemainus Theatre, Cowichan Valley Exhibition Grounds, Sports Fields, many Local Wineries, Golf Courses, Shopping, BC Forest Discovery Centre, Vancouver Island University, Maple Bay Marina, Cowichan District Hospital.Located in the City of Totems, in the heart of Duncan B.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Thunderbird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing