We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reason to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reason to stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I would recommend the Thunderbird Motel to anyone seeking quality accommodations. The Thunderbird Motel was central, well-maintained and the owners were fantastic. The owners were so kind and helpful, I felt very comfortable throughout my stay. I will always stay at the Thunderbird Motel while in Duncan as it has never failed to impress.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkhdvljzsdnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    63
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
54
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed here for a month while waiting to take possession of a condo I bought in Duncan.

A great place, great value, the owners are the nicest, and they go out of their way to provide you with anything you need.

The rooms are clean and well furnished. On the monthly plan, you get cleaning and clean sheets and towels weekly, but sheets and towels are available on a more regular basis if needed. I had a very useful kitchenette unit which allowed me to cook in the room. Internet service was good.

The owners, Maureen and Martin are very friendly, and were very helpful with every small request I took to them.

The York Street Diner on the same property, but a separate business, serves tasty food at a good price.

I'd recommend the Thunderbird to anyone. If you value personal service over corporate lodgings, this is the place in Duncan for you.

Paul Harris

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I travel frequently to Duncan for work and have stayed at the Thunderbird Motor Inn many times and am very impressed with it. What always impresses me the most are the owners. They are lovely people who bend over backwards for their customers. They are just so very nice!!!!! The rooms are totally affordable and basic and have everything a weary traveler needs. The wifi is fast, the rooms are always very clean, there are microwaves and fridges in the room and the bed and pillows are really comfy! The hotel is very close to the highway which is great for location and is still surprisingly quite quiet. The restaurant attached to the hotel serves a great breakfast. So in all, a great place to stay for travellers or business people and I highly recommend it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wildindigo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Yet once again I found myself travelling through Duncan. I know I can always count on this Motel for an affordable and pleasant stay. The owners/managers couldn't be more friendly or helpful, always looking for ways to improve the guests stay. There have been many upgrades since my last stay. My room was on the second floor and I found it to be spacious, very clean and had a great nights sleep. Meal at the adjacent diner was really delicious. I would highly recommend this Motel to anyone and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Front Desk Staff very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean but asked for non-smoking and the room smelled faintly of smoke. There were tables and chairs set out on the long balcony right outside rooms for smokers to use. We are early to bed, early to rise but people sitting outside smoking and talking loudly until after midnight made for a poor night's sleep. Also, the traffic on the highway through town was very loud and given that it was a Saturday night it went on until after midnight. I would not stay again due to the noise levels and the second hand smoke.

Room Tip: If non-smoker look for room without tables and ashtrays outside on balcony. Don't stay near res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird M, Owner at Thunderbird Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback; we are listening and we do change what we are able to, however there are situations we have no control over. The adjoining street was being paved and traffic was temporarily diverted past our property. We have a quiet time policy of 10pm and generally, guests are respectful of others or if they need a gentle reminder they are cooperative and take their conversations inside. Had you called the office with a noise complaint I would have addressed the situation immediately. We have a no smoking policy in our rooms and provide tables and chairs for our guests who choose to smoke outside.

Our guests have rated the Thunderbird Inn on various internet sites as the best place to stay in the Cowichan Valley, especially on cleanliness, location and price. We will continue to do our best to provide a positive experience for everyone who stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great hospitality and owner/host Maureen who is very personal. This is a motel so basic accommodations, but nice to see a well run independent family establishment that takes pride in their business and service. As others stated: good value compared to the chain hotels. Save yourself some money and get the same quality and better service at a very reasonable price. Owner allowed us to check in early and even set up an extra cot for us as we have 3 small kids in anticipation of us needing a bit more sleeping space. Close by to lots of restaurants (great coffee at Java World nearby). We had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morchofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem Israel
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Thurnderbird for three nights at the beginning of Oct. 2013. It's a good 3 star motel but no more than that.
The best thing about it was the cleanliness. Everything from the floors to the towels and linens were spotless. The beds were quite comfortable as well.
Then there were the little things. the only place there was to hang your clothes was across a bar out in the open between the wall and the microwave oven.
There was no rummer mat or anything else to put down in the bathtub which made it very slippery. There were no bars to hold on to and it was very difficult to get in and out of the tub or shower.
We were supplied with two tiny little bars of soap and a very very small bottle of shampoo. There wasn't enough there for one person to shampoo their hair.
We would probably go back for a short visit but if you want to stay more than 3 nights look elsewhere.
.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdl2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird M, Owner at Thunderbird Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we agree, little things are important too.

Overall our guests find the volume of shampoo & soaps to be adequate and our staff replenish each rooms' supplies (shampoos, soaps, coffee/tea, towels etc) on a daily basis. If an individual requires additional supplies or items, they are always available, including non-skid mats.

Our room layouts do vary; some with dedicated closet space; some with safety handles near the tub and bed. If we were made aware of your needs at the time of your arrival, or at any time during your stay, we would have been able to address them and could have provided a room more suited to your particular needs.

Maureen & I, along with our entire staff, will continue to strive hard to provide very good quality accommodations for our guests and to exceed their expectations of what a "Motel" should be.

Sincerely, Thunderbird Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
1.7 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
28.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
4.7 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motor Inn

Property: Thunderbird Motor Inn
Address: 5849 York Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 3S3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Motor Inn is centrally located in the Cowichan Valley; an easy walk to downtown Duncan, the Cowichan Sports Plex, and across the street from the Cowichan Theatre / Rec Centre / Aquatic Centre.We are 40mins north of Victoria (BC's Capital) and 35 minutes south of Nanaimo (The Harbour City) which makes us the perfect stopping point after travelling from the Washington State Ferries, BC Ferries, or the airports.We are close to the Chemainus Theatre, Cowichan Valley Exhibition Grounds, Sports Fields, many Local Wineries, Golf Courses, Shopping, BC Forest Discovery Centre, Vancouver Island University, Maple Bay Marina, Cowichan District Hospital.Located in the City of Totems, in the heart of Duncan B.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thunderbird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing