We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We got into town a bit late and needed a place to crash. We checked out one of the chain hotels and weren't impressed so we tried the Thunderbird. The room was spacious but really and truely it was the service that impressed us. Despite being pretty booked up, they went the extra mile to try to make us comfortable and offered us advice on what we should see while we were in Duncan. Customer service is everything and these people get it!! I totally recommend the Thunderbird to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 208 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I came into Duncan and stumbled upon the Thunderbird. The owners are terrific people.The rooms simple but clean. The Thunderbird is in a good location. All in all, the Thunderbird in is a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spotless, spacious, king bed with sofa, fridge, microwave, air conditioning, blackout drapes which should be a priority and owners that care. Extremely convenient location.
The owners look after everything and really care about their guests and staff.
They are a very warm, welcoming, down-to-earth couple that you can't help wanting to stay with. They are very selective as well. They don't just check in anything off the street to fill rooms and this gives the guest a definite sense of security.
We normally stay in large chains and I have no idea why I chose to check this out but I'm very happy that I did and when we want to get away and are headed for Duncan or surrounding areas, The Thunderbird Motor Inn is where we'll stay. We're looking forward to seeing Martin and Maureen again soon.

Room Tip: Top floor, with no one above is always my pick and we had that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is a hidden gem. My room was spacious and had a kitchenette, the bed was comfortable, the shower had great water pressure and most importantly the room was very clean. The room stayed cool even though it was very warm outside, so I only had to use the air conditioning for a short while and did not have to leave it running all night. The location was great, close to the municipal pool, complete with water slides, and the local theatre. It was a short walk into town to see the totem poles and free music in the park every day. The motel is managed by the owners who live on site, which makes for a well managed safe feeling stay. The owners are friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. There is a restaurant on-site that has ridiculously large portions of wholesome food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventure n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had been warned off another local hotel in town and after looking at recent reviews on TA, decided on the TBird. The owners/managers were exceptionally polite and accommodating. They both seemed to always be tidying the property and gave the impression they really did care about the facility and our stay. Although an older property, it was clean, comfortable and overall very decent value. There are limited accommodations in Duncan as far as hotel/motels go, but based on this experience, this would definitely be one to consider.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeftRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We were slated to stay and another hotel and when we pulled up outside there was a pub brawl about to break out. We left there and TA point us to this place overall good experience. We paid 90 which I felt was a little steep for this place but that's was fine. Clean rooms , but a little aged. Overall good place

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank J-n29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have not stayed at a motel for years so I cannot compare the Thunderbird to other properties regarding amenities or price. I thought the price was reasonable. The room was clean. It had a newer TV, clock, microwave, fridge and very important to me coffee pot with coffee supplied. I was aware upon entering of a musty odor but leaving the door open relieved that. Considering the location, it was very quiet at night. The folks at the desk are very accommodating. We were told to call if we needed anything and were offered an extension if it was a problem vacating the room at the expected time. If I find myself in Duncan again I would return here to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boocat149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
1.8 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
0.1 mi away
Falcon Nest Motel
Falcon Nest Motel
#4 of 6 in Duncan
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
4.8 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Duncan
Super 8 Duncan
#5 of 6 in Duncan
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motor Inn

Address: 5849 York Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 3S3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range: $76 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Motor Inn is centrally located in the Cowichan Valley; an easy walk to downtown Duncan, the Cowichan Sports Plex, and across the street from the Cowichan Theatre / Rec Centre / Aquatic Centre.We are 40mins north of Victoria (BC's Capital) and 35 minutes south of Nanaimo (The Harbour City) which makes us the perfect stopping point after travelling from the Washington State Ferries, BC Ferries, or the airports.We are close to the Chemainus Theatre, Cowichan Valley Exhibition Grounds, Sports Fields, many Local Wineries, Golf Courses, Shopping, BC Forest Discovery Centre, Vancouver Island University, Maple Bay Marina, Cowichan District Hospital.Located in the City of Totems, in the heart of Duncan B.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Thunderbird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing