We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you find yourself in Duncan there is no reason to stay anywhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed at the Thunderbird motor inn while I was in town for work. I stayed for an entire week and felt nothing but comfortable. Ownership is new and they have made amazing changes to the hotel and the atmosphere surrounding it. The room had everything I needed and the the staff and owners were lovely and easily accessible for any questions. I will definitely be staying here again if I return to Duncan! Thank you for my stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moviemake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from July 24th-27th and then again the following week from July 30th-3rd August for 4 nights which makes it a total of 7 nights stay.

The location is great just off Trans Canada Hwy but you cannot hear the traffic noise when you are in your room, The location was perfect for our needs close to restaurants, great for walks in the early morning and driving to Crofton, Ladysmith & Chemainus. New Owners Martin & Maureen were very friendly, helpful and personable and this made our stay more enjoyable as they were attentive to your needs. They have just taken over the property and are already in the process of upgrading and doing maintenance work. which is non-intrusive.

The rooms are spacious with a small fridge and writting table ideal for longer stays with comfortable beds, bathroom size is ok. we slept well as the walls were sound-proof. Parking is good right in front of your room

York St Dinner on-site is good for dinners and breakfast but you can also walk to Boston Pizza and the Asiana Pho restaurant which is close-by. Simtty and White Spot restaurant is just 7 mins driving time as well as supermarket & Shoppers Drug.

The down-side is yes some rooms smell of cigarette smoke even though there is a non- smoking sign in the rooms. Wifi connection is poor in some rooms and we had to open our door to get better connection as the signal from the router was poor. The good thing is that the owners are well aware of these small issues and are taking steps to improve it. Frankly our stay was so enjoyable with the good attitude of Martin & Maureen that one can over-look these initial teething minors.

Room Tip: The king-size room on the upper floor is great as it is more spacious and better wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOANMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My expectations weren't high, but there is no reason that a motel can't be great, and this one is. Yes, you can park in front of your room, and yes, there are flowered bedspreads, and an air conditioning unit with controls like "high" and "heat" but the room was spotless, the bed was great, and the walls soundproof. It's also very pretty, as we were there in the middle of summer and there were flowers everywhere. Moreover, when I let the battery in my car run down, the cheerful and personable owner dropped everything and gave both my car and my morale a much needed boost! Everything here is done with great care and attention.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Martin and Maureen went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one. They have just taken over the property and will not hesitate to take care of any issues an older hotel may have.

The location is great and prefect for our Bantam girls softball team as it was close to a wave park and lots of restaurants. However, the restaurant on the hotel property is EXCELLENT and they strive do as much home cooking as possible. Very fresh ingredients and a creative homey menu.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lickstervancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The only available room within reach of the motel's WiFi range on the ground floor of this 2-storey building was so scented by cigarette smoke, that I had to check out early. I required a street level room for health reasons. Management did have a No Smoking sign on the room which I specified in my reservation (July, 2012), but everything smelled of smoke inside the room. Management knew about the problem and apologized. They did not offer an alternative (nor refund which I did not actually request either), but for what the facility offers, I felt $75 per night for a senior was excessive. The motel is also very close to the busy Trans Canada Hwy, so it was not that quiet either.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juergen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird M, Manager at Thunderbird Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

We are surprised and quite frankly, shocked at the negativity of your review of our property. We will always try to please all our guests and if not fully satisfied will consider a full refund or adjustment. Although there is little we can do with smokers that "cheat" and smoke in a non-smoking room, our policy of non-smoking is strictly enforced.

It was not apparent to us but had you told us you were a senior and had special health needs/requirements, we would have endeavored to do everything to accommodate you here or recommend other accommodation more suited to your budget and specific requirements. We have reviewed your initial email reply to the reservation confirmation; you seemed happy with the arrangements and did not mention any special requests.

Upon check-in we did provide you with a choice of ground floor rooms and you seemed content with your choice of room even though you detected lingering smoke. After one night you were encouraged to leave to find less expensive accommodations, as our rate of $66.96 + HST was "excessive" in your opinion. We noticed you also were not content with the other motel you chose to move to, nor with the restaurant you dined at.

It will continue to be our policy to provide our guests with clean, comfortable rooms at very reasonable rates and endeavour to meet all of our customer's needs.

We regret we were not able to satisfy you.

Sincerely, Thunderbird Motor Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here with our girls ball team and had a great experience. The new owners are great and are on site day and night. The place is clean and is centrally located to shopping and restaurants. Great place to spend a night and great a place to bring a sports team.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveloften1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I spend two nights at the motel the first week of July. Everything was excellent. The room nice, clean, and well furnished. We really appreciated the on-site laundry. Martin and Maureen were gracious, helpful and informative hosts. Because of their recommendation, we spent a perfect day in nearby Chemainus with its world famous murals. We also enjoyed first rate meals at two restaurants in Duncan recommended by them. A most delightful part of our two week trip to Alaska, Vancouver Island, and northwest Washington State.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dontb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
1.8 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
0.6 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falcon Nest Motel
Falcon Nest Motel
#4 of 6 in Duncan
35 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Duncan
Super 8 Duncan
#5 of 6 in Duncan
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motor Inn

Address: 5849 York Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 3S3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range: $76 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Motor Inn is centrally located in the Cowichan Valley; an easy walk to downtown Duncan, the Cowichan Sports Plex, and across the street from the Cowichan Theatre / Rec Centre / Aquatic Centre.We are 40mins north of Victoria (BC's Capital) and 35 minutes south of Nanaimo (The Harbour City) which makes us the perfect stopping point after travelling from the Washington State Ferries, BC Ferries, or the airports.We are close to the Chemainus Theatre, Cowichan Valley Exhibition Grounds, Sports Fields, many Local Wineries, Golf Courses, Shopping, BC Forest Discovery Centre, Vancouver Island University, Maple Bay Marina, Cowichan District Hospital.Located in the City of Totems, in the heart of Duncan B.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thunderbird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing