We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and ambiance”
Review of Royal Dar

Royal Dar
Ranked #9 of 112 Restaurants in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cowichan Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent Indian food with great service. Went there a few different times with people and all enjoyed ourselves. Great deal for the cost!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    39
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Felt like I had travelled to India”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

How wonderful that these owners took an old house in downtown Duncan and literally turned it into Royalty from India. The decor was well done setting the mood for a royal feast in India. The food was plated well and the taste was authentic to East Indian Cuisine. This was an amazing culinary experience. My husband and I will return many times and will have no problem recommending this wonderful restaurant to our friends and neighbours. The portions were ample and we left fully satisfied without breaking the bank.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you like East Indian food, this is the spot for you. Great variety and super good food, service and value for the dollar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had an excellent meal at Royal Dar. Each dish was excellent and distinct. The servings were large and the side dishes were delicious. Our server, Dan, was very approachable and gave excellent suggestions. Overall a great experience in Duncan.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knitwit02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Family Favorite!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of our favorites. We take out of town company here and when they visit again they don't want to eat anywhere else. The restaurant is charming and warm. The staff is top notch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funwithafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Dar also viewed

Duncan, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Royal Dar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing