We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 17 Duncan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I'm writing this review on behalf of my parents who recently spent 6 nights at Holmesdale House, which they used as a base to explore Vancouver Island. Cassandra was a wonderful host and a fantastic cook. Much thought had clearly been given to the sensitive decoration and furnishing of the house, in keeping with its age. Their room and the house in general was extremely comfortable, with considerable thought given to the requirements of their guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
36
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

At the end of our week-long exploration of the Cowichan Valley in mid-August 2013 we needed a B&B right in Duncan so that we would have only a short drive to the Saturday Market to snag the freshest goods. Our research indicated that Holmesdale House seemed to be the right choice based on its location close to downtown but well beyond hearing distance. We were seduced by the history of the house as well as the descriptions of the rooms. We chose Room 2 because its amenities seemingly would suit us best. We were delighted to find it larger, more well-appointed and the decor more attractive than we had anticipated. Plenty of closet space, lots of places to tuck luggage away, and an incredibly comfortable bed that wrapped us in deep sleep. Despite its age, Holmesdale House has been very thoughtfully transformed into a welcoming B&B that provides all requirements--and more--for guest comforts. Cassandra will explain how the house was altered to suit different owners down the years; as well, throughout the dining and guest areas are many insights into its story, which parallels the early pioneer history of the region. Speaking of the dining room: that's where Cassandra serves her breakfast creations--professionally crafted, beautifully presented and delicious to eat; plenty to sustain us through hours at the Market and beyond. Although we stayed only briefly at Holmesdale House, we would return again for longer because we quickly realized that it is perfectly poised for efficient access to all the backroads leading to our favourite places in the Valley as well as all the excellent eateries in town, the amazing Cultural Centre, and the eclectic shops in the historic section; even the mall is handy. An endorsement for this B&B is its popularity over the years with visitors to Queen Margaret School, a boarding establishment of international renown. Although we were already pleased with our decision to spend our last night at Holmesdale House, this information assured us that we had made the best choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catwhowalksbyherself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This historic home is well appointed with all mod cons in heritage style e.g claw foot baths, old world taps and fittings, and tasteful bedding and furnishings. Cassandra does a fabulous breakfast and caters to all requirements including gluten free. The ensuite rooms have a lounge area to share with frig and microwave and books, DVDs to borrow. Additionally, the downstairs dining room for guests also has coffee, tea, milk etc available all day and thoughtful inclusions such as decaffinated ground beans, coffee plunger, teapot fine china. Guests are made to feel very welcome and Cassandra will ensure that you have all the information you need to explore the area around Duncan.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank DMWSUNSHINECOAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

After just one night we felt completely at home and didn't want to leave. We loved the design of the upstairs, which has a beautiful foyer to relax in. The breakfast was exceptional,and the owners are really genuinely nice people. The house has all the charm that comes with age, but none of the annoyances. (The floors aren't creaky, the plumbing is quiet etc).

I would recommend this place to anyone I liked.

Gord

Room Tip: My three year old daughter liked the security of being just on the other side of the washroom. It wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GORDTROU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Caretakers great and very friendly. Breakfast super: frittata plus. Quiet and comfortable sleep.
Off season.
Claw tub nice!
The price was reasonably valued but seemed more applicable to busy season. Cold and dark of season it was slightly overpriced.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed one night as we passed through Duncan. Steeped in history the B&B is in one of the oldest homes in Duncan. Thats not to say the Facilites are old, rather the history is visible throughout, however, the guest comfort is just great. The bed was especially comfortable and the bathroom was fully functional, the claw foot tub showing off the period splendor. Breakfast was the crown, from the fresh yogurt to the mushroom quiche it really was a treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our stay at Holmesdale House truly exceeded expectations for a short getaway. Located far enough from main roads to provide a quiet setting, yet close enough to downtown Duncan that shops and restaurants were within walking distance. The house is very charming and wonderfully decorated, and it is clear that our hosts paid attention to minor details that add to the overall charm of the house. Cassandra is a talented chef and served us a delicious breakfast each morning. We highly recommend Holmesdale House!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisbane2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
1.1 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
1.2 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
5.3 mi away
Seasons Above the Bay Guest Suites and B&B
5.6 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1058 Holmesdale St, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 4Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Duncan BC, the Holmesdale House is a Victorian residence build by Rev. David Holmes in 1881, but fully upgraded modern luxuries! Nestled in the Cowican Valley, the Holmesdale House provides an excellent launching pad to see vineyards, totem poles, lakes and sea side, walk the Canada trail, try some golf and much much more. Close to Queen Margaret's Private school, and the Cowichan Hospital, the Holmesdale House offers a charming luxurious accommodation whether visiting loved ones or enjoying the abundant recreational opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing