We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close you can almost touch them”
Review of The Raptors

The Raptors
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birds of prey have always inspired awe. Sadly, they are threatened in many parts of the world. When you experience them up close, you learn that they are more than predators from the sky; they are essential to maintaining the delicate eco-balance of our planet. The Raptors offer compelling and interactive experiences with a variety of birds of prey species including eagles, hawks, falcons and owls. Get closer than you ever imagined to these majestic and intelligent creatures. Flying demonstrations, hands-on encounters and educational talks offered daily (April - October). The Raptors is located in the heart of the beautiful Cowichan Valley, just 60 minutes north of Downtown Victoria and 45 minutes south of Downtown Nanaimo by car.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So close you can almost touch them”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

It's a great place to see these amazing birds. Most are not behind cages they are sitting on perches just a few feet in front of you with just a leg restraint. The flying demonstrations happen a few times a day and the birds fly so close to you that if feels like the tips of their wings are touching you as they fly by. Very cool.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    77
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Meet the eagles”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Many birds to see all year, but in summer, the flying demonstrations are similar to what we see at the College of the Desert shows in Palm Springs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seeing these amazing birds up close - priceless...”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Loved this place. The bird show was incredible. Highly recommend doing the Hawk Walk. They glove you and put food in your gloved hand and a beautiful hawk swoops in, lands on your had, and eats the food. Great experience. The staff is fun and very knowledgeable. A must do if you are visiting Vancouver Island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyandVon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster England
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Don't miss the show!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I visited here in early July 2013 with friends.

It's a small place and doesn't take long to walk around. Due to this check for the display times, you won't be disappointed!

Pleasant, informative staff and plenty of birds to see. We were there when a group of children visited, excellent because many birds were available for seeing up close, there will be an opportunity for you to have one of the impressive animals perched on your arm.

The venue is clean and the animals well looked after.

The show is the highlight. Birds are presented individually in a large open field, watch open mouthed as they swoop down to the trainers. You will be a matter of feet away from these impressive birds. The show is around 30 mins so a good 2 hours can be spent here.

Well worth the money and a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunseasandtequilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Two adults and two teenage children We all thoroughly enjoyed the raptors. We did the hawk walk where you walk in the forest with a glove on and get to call the hawk down to your arm and feed it. We got to do this multiple times !
Friendly staff who are great at answering all our questions. Watched one of the flight demonstrations, the birds were so close to our heads that my husbands hat got grazed more than once with a bird wing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raptors also viewed

 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Raptors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing