We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seeing these amazing birds up close - priceless...”
Review of The Raptors

The Raptors
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birds of prey have always inspired awe. Sadly, they are threatened in many parts of the world. When you experience them up close, you learn that they are more than predators from the sky; they are essential to maintaining the delicate eco-balance of our planet. The Raptors offer compelling and interactive experiences with a variety of birds of prey species including eagles, hawks, falcons and owls. Get closer than you ever imagined to these majestic and intelligent creatures. Flying demonstrations, hands-on encounters and educational talks offered daily (April - October). The Raptors is located in the heart of the beautiful Cowichan Valley, just 60 minutes north of Downtown Victoria and 45 minutes south of Downtown Nanaimo by car.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seeing these amazing birds up close - priceless...”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Loved this place. The bird show was incredible. Highly recommend doing the Hawk Walk. They glove you and put food in your gloved hand and a beautiful hawk swoops in, lands on your had, and eats the food. Great experience. The staff is fun and very knowledgeable. A must do if you are visiting Vancouver Island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyandVon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    79
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster England
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Don't miss the show!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I visited here in early July 2013 with friends.

It's a small place and doesn't take long to walk around. Due to this check for the display times, you won't be disappointed!

Pleasant, informative staff and plenty of birds to see. We were there when a group of children visited, excellent because many birds were available for seeing up close, there will be an opportunity for you to have one of the impressive animals perched on your arm.

The venue is clean and the animals well looked after.

The show is the highlight. Birds are presented individually in a large open field, watch open mouthed as they swoop down to the trainers. You will be a matter of feet away from these impressive birds. The show is around 30 mins so a good 2 hours can be spent here.

Well worth the money and a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunseasandtequilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Two adults and two teenage children We all thoroughly enjoyed the raptors. We did the hawk walk where you walk in the forest with a glove on and get to call the hawk down to your arm and feed it. We got to do this multiple times !
Friendly staff who are great at answering all our questions. Watched one of the flight demonstrations, the birds were so close to our heads that my husbands hat got grazed more than once with a bird wing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorena
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful birds, up close and personal!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

It was late in the day, my sister and I were tired, and I did not want to pony up the entrance fee but I am glad I did! A large selection of raptors of all ages, in a tranquil setting. Up close and personal is what you will find at the Pacific Northwest Raptor Center. The staff is friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable about the residents. The flying demonstrations are awesome! You can almost reach out and touch the birds. Set your camera on its highest speed and get ready for some great shots! The kids will enjoy the photo opportunity as a bird handler, near the entrance. Plan on using the bathroom facilities before you come. Due to the large amount of meat on hand to feed the birds, the flies are evident, especially in the bathroom.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic opportunity to see raptors up close, really close!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

When in the Cowichan area, you must plan to a trip to the Pacific Northwest Raptors. It will give you an opportunity to see the birds up close, really close...You'll feel the wings brushing past your hair as the eagles, owls, falcon, turkey vultures and hawks put on an ariel display.

There are two flying demonstrations each day. A different group of birds on each show.

While waiting to see the flying demos, there are a variety of enclosures and teethered areas to view. It is easy to get around to see all the birds. Great location for all ages.

Reasonably priced and really worth a visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raptors also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Raptors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing