We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay to remember...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 17 Duncan B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 28, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Stonewood B&B for three days following our wedding on August 28th. It was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast and we weren't sure what to expect... it was perfect!
The breakfasts were incredible and the house was stunning. The rooms were beautifully decorated with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in (we stayed in the King room). Rob and Suzie were so warm and welcoming that if I even thought I needed something, I would turn around and there it would be. They truly care about the quality of your stay and I can honestly say you don't come across service or people like this very often. The fact that it is less expensive than almost all of the hotels in the area just blows my mind. I would recommend The Stonewood B&B to anyone and everyone :) Their website photos are exactly how the home actually looks and you can view them here http://www.stonewoodbandb.com/. Feel free to message me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystal_koglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

The Stonewood B & B is beautiful inside and out. The setting and landscaping were awesome and it was extremely clean and well kept throughout the entire house. The hosts, Rob & Susie were so friendly, and offered a delicious huge breakfast. The hospitality we received was second to none and very sincere. We were cycling on Vancouver Island and we don’t like to cycle once it gets dark, so getting to dinner can pose a problem. Rob drove us to dinner and picked us back up at our convenience, not his. Rob & Susie could not do enough for us, yet, we never felt that they were intruding on our privacy. We stayed in the one bedroom suite and it was perfect for a couple. It had a 4 piece en suite and the bed was very comfortable with top notch linens. The entire B & B was open to us to use and decorated very tastefully. We wish we could have spent more time at this B & B enjoying what it had to offer. I highly recommend this B & B and hope to return one day. Thanks Rob & Susie!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Outstanding house, breakfast and hosts ... will definitely return. Modern, classy decor - very comfortable rooms - beautiful grounds with huge (1/3 acre) swimming pond - great location for all of Cowichan Valley - large, tasty breakfasts ... Rob and Suzie are doing a great job of making guests feel welcome. Thanks folks!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Great location on a seclude tree covered plot with a swimming pool (looks like a pond). Beautiful rooms with a perfect bed. Fantastic breakfast. Access to a games room with a big screen TV. Good for a home base for traveling or just relaxing. Rob made a reservation for us at a tasty restaurant, the Genoa Bay Cafe. Susie gave us a bottle of champagne as a honeymoon present. On top of all this, we saw two deer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suur_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at Stone Wood B&B for three nights, attending a wedding nearby and we can’t praise it enough. First, the location: set in a secluded, beautiful and peaceful spot in the woods, yet near Duncan, a town with a rich history of native culture as well as all the modern conveniences. It is about 45 minutes' drive from Victoria. Instead of the typical B&B in the Victoria area, which is a renovated old house, hosts Rob and Susie built Stone Wood from the ground up to be a B&B (they live on the first floor). As a result, the place is new, with modern fixtures and numerous well thought out touches ranging from the layout to the furniture to free wi-fi. We rented the suite on the second floor, which has a separate entrance. It was very spacious and comfortable, just like a large apartment, with a full kitchen and a view of the gardens that surround the home. Hosts Rob and Susie were wonderful. All we had to do was mention anything and they immediately responded. They even made reservations for us at two excellent restaurants a few minutes’ drive away on the coast. And speaking of food, they are excellent cooks: breakfasts were gourmet.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Davidsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I was completely blown away by the impeccable service provided at the StoneWood B&B. The accomodation was beautiful to say the least, very modern, clean and friendly. Little extras were provided that made us feel like family rather than strangers. I would definitely return myself and without question would recommend the Lapsley's incredible B&B to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmclark80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My Husband and I arrived in Duncan 1 day earlier than expected with some friends. We called Stone wood and Rob and Sue were more than happy to have us check in earlier. We arrived at Stonewood and felt like we were immediately part of their family, we were greated with open arms, shown around the house and given the rules, the only rule being "Just don't curl up in my bed". We all unpacked and headed outside to the beautiful yard, complete with a beautiful man made swimming area. The rooms were spacious and very clean, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud, and the breakfast in the morning was absolutely amazing. We stayed for 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.
Rob and Sue, thank you for an amazing getaway we would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherisse74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
3.7 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
4.5 mi away
Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
6.8 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
6.7 mi away
Seasons Above the Bay Guest Suites and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7338 Walton Mountain Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 5W8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Duncan
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the Chemainus/Cowichan Vallies. Minutes from the ocean, theatres, golf and shopping. Stone Wood offers a quiet rural location for your luxury getaway or intimate wedding. Awaken to a delicious breakfast then hike or bike the many trails at our doorstep, spend your days exploring this popular tourist area or just relaxing in the beauty and comfort of Stone Wood. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing