We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Stone Wood or this beautiful area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Duncan B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed at Stone Wood for two nights in September 2011 and wished afterwards we had stayed longer (see below). Rob and Susie are a joy, we laughed such a lot, and certainly they could not make you more welcome. The house should be featured in a top homes magazine it is so, so beautiful and everything in the bedroom and bathroom looks like no one has ever stayed there before it is so clean and new: fluffy, sparkling towels; beautiful bedding;quality, generous toiletries, etc. The breakfast could not be bettered, wonderfully tasty and beautifully presented, I challenge anyone to want any lunch!. I really can't recommend it highly enough, you will not find anywhere better.( You may find somewhere with better advertising, but I am convinced it could not be as good.)
We left there to drive over to Torfino and the drive was lovely but we found the town and the local area disappointing and very expensive. They really rip you off when you go over there as it's a long way back to anywhere else so you have to pay up!
We found the Cowichain area, where Stone Wood is, very beautiful with excellent restaurants at reasonable prices (Genoa Bay Restaurant is a must, try the seafood chowder.) Susie and Rob will point you in the right direction for anything you want to do.

Room Tip: The king is the same price as the queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bairnontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 89 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

This home is absolutely stunning, and located on an amazing property too. The hosts are very friendly, and we sincerely enjoyed our conversations with Rob, who is one of the nicest people you will meet. He made us a dinner reservation at Genoa Bay and gave us directions to get there- we were very pleased at the place he recommended. The breakfast at the B&B was superb. The rooms are elegant and private. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GREYBIRD061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was the best place to stay of our whole Canada trip!
We really felt at home staying at Rob and Susie's house. Everything was perfectly clean and comfortable. Our room was huge, with a sitting area, walk-in closet, very nice bathroom with a tub and a shower. Sleeping was extremely quiet and recreative.
But the best was the breakfast! We had a great fruit granola yogurt parfait with freshly picked local fruits and the best eggs benedict you will find in Canada! So each night you go to bed you can look forward to the breakfast! Rob gave us good advices for things to do, to see and to eat in the Cowchian Valley.
It was just great! We very much enjoyed staying with Rob and Susie!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Friendly and gracious host and hostess, delicious and hearty breakfasts beautifully presented and made with local produce, spacious, well-appointed rooms and bathrooms - no detail is forgotten! From the moment you arrive at this 3-acre get away, you are pampered! You even have a quarry to swim in. We enjoy quiet for sleeping and that's exactly what this idyllic setting offered us. Next time we visit we plan to explore Chemainus, Crofton and Duncan less than 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This was our anniversary trip and our first time in BC. We thoroughly researched many places and read lots of reviews before selecting Stonewood. It's always a leap of faith and our expectations were by far exceeded with this wonderful place to stay. Rob and Susie are gracious hosts, their home and property is beautiful, the guest rooms are fantastic and the breakfast is delicisions (Ina Garten would be proud!). We stayed in the King Suite and the bed was so comfortable, sitting area quite cozy and there is a refrigerator in the guest lounge right outside our door. We are very pleased and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CIO_Headhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed with Rob and Susie at the beautiful Stone Wood B&B during a July motorcycle excursion. Rob set us up with VERY last minute reservations (the night before!) - which we really appreciated when the weather turned bad on us! We hadn't been at the house more than 2 minutes before Rob and Susie called and got us dinner reservations at an amazing local eatery with a great view. They made us feel really welcome and right at home. And what an amazing B&B!!! Immaculately clean and sparkling. Softest bed EVER. Gigantic closet to store all our riding gear. Gorgeous property. And our hosts were so friendly and such great company, we stayed up half the night chatting with them! They have some amazing stories to tell!! Breakfast the next morning was completely divine and had me full for hours. I can't give these folks a high enough reccomendation. They went above and beyond in every way possible to make sure we had a wonderful stay - even if it was just for one night. Rob even helped us with riding directions and ideas for stops the next day. If we ever get the chance to go back, we absolutely will! What wonderful people with such big hearts! Thanks Rob and Susie!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginrwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Stone Wood B&B on our wedding night and the night after. We got to choose our room when we booked but we would have been happy with any of the rooms they have. The beds are comfy, washrooms are spotless, and we loved the plush seating area by the windows. The hosts are incredibly accommodating, we came late in the night and had breakfast late and they had no problem with any of it. Speaking of the breakfasts- they were amazing!!! Make sure you are hungry! My husband and I haven't stopped talking about the eggs benny. It was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. It took us a while to decide which B&B to stay at in the area so I hope this review helps in your search. The only regret we have is that we didn't stay longer so we could swim in the pond pool and spend more time relaxing around the serene property!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy_haines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duncan hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
4.2 mi away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
4.8 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Falcon Nest Motel
Falcon Nest Motel
#4 of 6 in Duncan
34 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sensational de Paradisio
Sensational de Paradisio
#13 of 18 in Duncan
3 reviews
5.3 mi away
Super 8 Duncan
Super 8 Duncan
#5 of 6 in Duncan
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7338 Walton Mountain Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 5W8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Duncan
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the Chemainus/Cowichan Vallies. Minutes from the ocean, theatres, golf and shopping. Stone Wood offers a quiet rural location for your luxury getaway or intimate wedding. Awaken to a delicious breakfast then hike or bike the many trails at our doorstep, spend your days exploring this popular tourist area or just relaxing in the beauty and comfort of Stone Wood. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing