We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a nice little place to find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klondike Kate's Restaurant

Klondike Kate's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Dawson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Step into our authentic gold-rush-era building and you’ll spot many local sourdoughs enjoying a favorite meal. They love us because we use local products and ingredients in our flavourful, beautiful dishes. We love them because they provide us with loyal patronage and a steady supply of Yukon-made herbs, produce, fish and more. We serve fresh, creative, North American cuisine finer than the grub stampeders had to eat.Come in and enjoy great food and a friendly atmosphere either inside our fully licensed dining room or out on our covered patio. Featuring smoked BBQ fare, scrumptious homemade desserts, and fabulous breakfast and brunch specials.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a nice little place to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We we stumbled into this town in July and without any reservations we found quite a surprise. The town was so nice we decided to stay for quite some nights in Dawson City. The sun never sets oh until 4 AM and we stayed up many a night we came across Klondike Kate's restaurant and enjoyed the most wonderful pastries at 3 AM in the morning. We came back to this place more than once during our little stay in this quaint town of Dawson City.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeraldHirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    98
    30
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
377 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“1850's Gold Rush chic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Corner lot restaurant and keeping with the era, it is has wooden tables and chairs. We had a hearty meal consisting of:
The Miner - 3 egg omelet with bacon, mushrooms, potatoes, toast and jam
Belgium waffles, brats and maple syrup

No need to eat your next meal after eating here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flounder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Char Taco was terrific and the chicken was quite good. My husband had the chicken sandwich which he said was ok. We arrived early and the patio was already full but we were hungry and decided to eat inside which was fine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank babyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Really good food in the far north.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We ordered the chicken and fish tacos. We liked them so much we will return again. Children's burger was huge and had tastey choices for the sides. We came off a cruise ship and this meal was as good as any we had on the ship. The Tacos were $5 each one was enough but I will order two next time. Recommended buy everyone at our table. Everything other than the taco shells appeared to be made fresh. Fine food in the far north.

Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryYYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So much of a good thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our first dinner was so good we went back a second time. The food was simply but deliciously prepared, taking full advantage of the goodness of locally grown foods. I'm still dreaming about the mixed garden vegetables, and when does anyone ever remember the mixed veggie side in a restaurant?! The servers were patient with our kids as they tentatively placed their orders, and quick with the grownups as we ordered another round, which we could do because we stayed in one of the cabins just around the corner. Everybody wins!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Resamhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klondike Kate's Restaurant also viewed

 
Dawson City, Yukon
 

Been to Klondike Kate's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing