We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Potential...”

Dawson City Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dawson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dawson City Bunkhouse
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dawson City
Everywhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Has Potential...”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Bunkhouse is one of the many places in Dawson whose owners live in Germany. The two front desk managers in 2010 (Paul and Heidi) ran the place, and were absolutely useless for the most part. I saw paper towel in the washrooms for about 3 days of the whole month, even after asking both Heidi and Paul to replace it. The toilets, sinks, and showers were almost never cleaned (unless there was a new complementary band-aid thrown in one of the showers each morning), and any time you asked for something or if something needed to be cleaned, the managers were "busy". For 500 a month, 60-80 a night, or 200-300 a week, you could do a lot better. This place would be amazing if the managers cared about it at all, and if the owners fixed it up with even a single communal kitchen area (there's nothing there to cook with at all) and some wi-fi. It's too bad it's run the way it is...maybe it will improve in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AirportKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We have been staying at the Bunkhouse every time we visited Dawson City. However, this year our stay at that place was horrible. It is now totally overpriced, it was extremely dirty, and we got hardly any sleep thanks to other guests being noisy. Since there was nobody on the premise to keep an eye on the place, drunks were allowed to wreck havoc all night long. This was definitely the last time we stayed at that 'hotel'.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveling20101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everett, washington......usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2004

most excellent time spent at the bunkhouse. manager is not only gorgeous, but alot of fun to hang around. very helpful, and knowledgable of the area. nice clean, comfortable rooms at a fair price with a warm smile and a hot cup of coffee waiting for you in the morning. did i mention the manager??? lol.... you'll not forget her if you meet her. hi sunshine....

Helpful?
6 Thank hdsledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 21, 2003

Truly good service, clean rooms and bathrooms. Reasonably priced. Good location. Plus a fun town to visit.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 22, 2003

nice, clean hotel overlooking yukon river. good value and friendly atmosphere. located in the center of Dawson City. did not charge extra for our pet.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dawson City hotels
0.2 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 8 in Dawson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westmark Inn Dawson City
Westmark Inn Dawson City
#2 of 8 in Dawson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Triple J Hotel and Cabins
Triple J Hotel and Cabins
#4 of 8 in Dawson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonanza Gold Motel
Bonanza Gold Motel
#5 of 5 in Dawson City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
5th Avenue Bed & Breakfast
5th Avenue Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Dawson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawson City Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawson City Bunkhouse

Property: Dawson City Bunkhouse
Address: Front and Prince Sts., Dawson City, Yukon Y0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Dawson City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dawson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dawson City Bunkhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bunkhouse offers clean basic accommodation at a great price in Dawson City. Offering private rooms with own or shared bathroom facilities, free parking and wifi. Our central location makes exploring Dawson's many attractions easy. Now under new management there has never been a better time to choose The Bunkhouse for your stay in Dawson. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing