We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aurora Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dawson City
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed 14/17th June 2013, our stay was excellent and made even better by the hosts who were friendly, helpful and only too willing to oblige, nothing too much trouble. Breakfasts were healthy and always served with a smile and just what we needed. The room was beyond normal, spotless with lovely crisp white linen, and VERY clean and more than comfortable. Nothing wanting. If you are looking to stay in Dawson City and looking to be treated as an individual - this is it. Could not ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    39
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
72
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here 22 Aug 2013
Had room in front building 1xQS bed, $159 + Tax
No iron. No breakfast included. Continental breakfast is another $12.95 per head and is ordered the night before.
Room was very clean and quiet. Internet functioned well. We got a good night's sleep.
My only beef is that the rooms are newly fitted out with basic furniture and it just does not seem like good value for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraInn, Owner at Aurora Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are sorry that we couldn't meet all your expectations and we say thank you for your remarks.
You are right, there is no iron in the room but we do have one available upon a guests request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
682 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We still have a night left of our 3 night stay here, but I'm already compelled to write how good this hotel is. The rooms are sparklingly clean, with lovely pine furniture and comfortable beds, or at least room 5 was. Room doors were left open whilst awaiting guests arrivals, so it was easy to see that other rooms looked equally good. Free wifi is available and very reliable. The breakfast cost $12.95 and included fresh fruit, yoghurt, ham, cheeses, croissants and freshly baked bread, all served at the table. A huge variety of different teas are available, all free. Guests have to remove shoes upon entering, and flip flop type shoes are available to wear inside, which helps to keep the place so clean and dust free. Only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed due to work permit issues, but that didn't detract from the overall great value offered here. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The owners have gone out of their way to make the rooms comfortable and to add nice, artistic touches to the look of the inn. Breakfasts are good, too — more expensive than you can find in town but on the hearty European side with very nice, freshly baked bread. In town, walking distance from everything.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Modern, well-appointed and very clean non-smoking rooms with wonderful shower-only bathrooms (I stayed in Rooms #2 and #3 on separate occasions). Hospitable and fast reception, friendly staff, and within walking distance of everything in Dawson. Very reliable and fast WiFi. The Inn offers a continental breakfast ($12.95), in a lovely dining area, and complimentary coffee and water round the clock.
Because Dawson is so dusty or muddy, they ask you to remove your shoes to preserve the cleanliness of the carpets etc.
I highly recommend this Inn..it is well worth the price ($170+/night)

Room Tip: All rooms are similarly decorated to a high standard. 18 rooms, and two jacuzzi suites. I came bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Although under new ownership you can still rely on clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms and personable service!

A delightful stay in the quieter section of Dawson City, about a 3-5 minute walk to where ever you need to be in this eclectic Gold Rush town - home of the Klondike!

Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property..it will be a bit quieter and cooler in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukon Landcruis... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very small and cozy. They have some odd ways of doing things, as in no shoes are allowed to be worn in the hotel. This issued use a pair of crocks, and once we got into the hotel, i understood why. It is very nice, very clean. The rooms were perfect for what we needed them for. I expected to be small and a bit run down. I got the small part right, but it was very nice. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms are small. It is a bit over priced, but you know us tourist will pay for it. they offer br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawson City
0.1 mi away
Westmark Inn Dawson City
Westmark Inn Dawson City
#2 of 8 in Dawson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Triple J Hotel and Cabins
Triple J Hotel and Cabins
#5 of 8 in Dawson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inconnu Lodge
Inconnu Lodge
#17 of 40 in Yukon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
5th Avenue Bed & Breakfast
5th Avenue Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Dawson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonanza Gold Motel
Bonanza Gold Motel
#5 of 5 in Dawson City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Property: Aurora Inn
Address: 5th Avenue and Harper Street, Dawson City, Yukon Y0B 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Dawson City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dawson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aurora Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing