We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a suprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmark Inn Dawson City
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dawson City
Certificate of Excellence
Driftwood, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a suprise!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Who would have thought that one of the best hotels on our tour was in Dawson City... Our room appeared to be newly renovated, very comfortable and large. This hotel had the typical amenities but they seemed to be luxurious compared to other places we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarSic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    107
    47
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
110
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howard City, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here during a Holland America Cruise Tour. This is one of the places we stayed at. Remember that this is a small town in the Yukon with limited choices for lodging. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, the room was not a large room but we were only there one night. The hotel has several building's with rooms but only across the street from the main building. The resturant was very good with excellent meals and staff. Close to the main part of town and river. Do not know the cost to stay there because it was included in the tour but I would stay again. All the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As soon as we walked into the hotel I was told "we have no vacancies". After I showed the receptionist my booking conformation, I was told "that means nothing to me". It took 15 minutes to finally find me a room.
During my 3 day stay 5 members of the staff were rude, treated me like I should not be there, or could not be bothered even serving me. I was not the only Australian's having this problem with this hotel others were to. If you were American or Canadian you got treated like royalty.
After requesting to be placed on the next days shuttle list to the airport. I was told "the service is only for guests".
I asked to speak to the manager and was told she is busy. It would appear the attitude about Australians or even non Americans and Canadians comes from management down.
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. There are better hotels and B&B's in town.

Room Tip: Book into another hotel or B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keni52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Tennessee
Level Contributor
307 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Small town,large hotel. A much better Westmark (Holland Tour) than Skagway or Whitehorse-both rundown,etc. Stayed across the st from lobby. Nice room w/small view of mtns out the window. Decent size room with enough space for luggage and still move around. The Westmark property had a nice lawn/garden area , restaurant w/ bar and 2nd story patio seating. Since Dawson City is not large it was within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wataugaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Best hotel in the Yukon. An outstanding restaurant and bar, wifi available, a large clean comfortable room, and a short walk to all the action in town. The staff was outstanding and the service was superb. The walls are a little thin but the neighbors were quiet and we slept great. If you're going to visit Dawson City....Stay Here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel was adeqaute for this small town. Rooms decent and clean ($125-150.00 per night). Beds and pillows average. No internet access in the rooms and this is not ever good. We had to sit in the lobby to get a signal. Dawson City is beautiful and quaint little town along the Yukon River. 100 year old small buildings with charm and wood plank streets. A real cowboy-minor type town with dirt roads and rough characters looking to strike it rich. Good local eats like: Sourdough Joes, Eldorado Hotel, and The Drunken Goat. The character of this former boom town has been maintained at many levels. Make sure to hike to the ‘dome’ for a spectacular view over the river and city. This is a difficult hike and step at times, taking about 2 hours up and 45 minutes down (bring some water). Also consider taking the free Ferry across the river to the camp ground. If you walk to the end of the camp area (30 minutes), you reach a stretch of sand with old sunken boats left by the miners from the early 1900s. Many visitors camp across the river ($12.00 per night) and take the 24 hour free Ferry to reach Dawson (5 minute ride). The sun sets after well after midnight in the summer and rises early for little darkness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAP-TRAVEL-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Indiana
Level Contributor
291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We've been on a cruise ship and in 2 other Westmark hotels on our tour and this is the best room of all. We were in a second floor room across the street from the main office. Because of this location we did have Wifi. The room was very large with 2 queen sized beds and plenty of room to set out our 4 pieces of luggage. The shower was great. There are 2 laundry facilities, one in our building & one in the main office building. Traveler hint : the one in the main officebldg costs a loonie more but has larger capacity machines.The room service and staff were very friendly, especially Mike who serviced the laundry room and immediately addressed a problem we had noticed. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frugalmama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dawson City hotels
0.1 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 8 in Dawson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Triple J Hotel and Cabins
Triple J Hotel and Cabins
#4 of 8 in Dawson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
5th Avenue Bed & Breakfast
5th Avenue Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Dawson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonanza Gold Motel
Bonanza Gold Motel
#5 of 5 in Dawson City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Inn Dawson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Inn Dawson City

Property: Westmark Inn Dawson City
Address: Fifth & Harper Streets | Box 420, Dawson City, Yukon Y0B 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Dawson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dawson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westmark Inn Dawson City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Westmark Inn Dawson City provides visitors with spacious and comfortable accommodations in the heart of this lively gold rush community. Guests discover warm northern hospitality at the Inn with television and a private bath in each of the 177 rooms. Enjoy wonderful meals in Belinda's Dining Room and the Keno Lounge. Dawson City retains the color and flavor of those gold rush days at the turn of the century. The Westmark Inn Dawson City is in the heart of downtown just blocks from the legendary Diamond Tooth Gertie's gambling hall. Open mid-May through mid-September for summer guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Westmark Inn Dawson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Inn Dawson City Hotel Dawson City
Westmark Hotel Dawson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing