We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westmark Inn Dawson City
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dawson City
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We've been on a cruise ship and in 2 other Westmark hotels on our tour and this is the best room of all. We were in a second floor room across the street from the main office. Because of this location we did have Wifi. The room was very large with 2 queen sized beds and plenty of room to set out our 4 pieces of luggage. The shower was great. There are 2 laundry facilities, one in our building & one in the main office building. Traveler hint : the one in the main officebldg costs a loonie more but has larger capacity machines.The room service and staff were very friendly, especially Mike who serviced the laundry room and immediately addressed a problem we had noticed. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frugalmama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 265 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Westmark in Dawson City as a part of A Holland America tour. Our room was in the large building across the main street from the hotel lobby and this was not really a problem. The room was clean and comfortable, with a high ceiling and "period" wall paper. The hotel restaurant was large and airy. The food was good and the staff were friendly. Outside there was a pleasant seating area and a very nice garden. The hotel fit the image of a circa 1900 classy hotel in the Klondike.

Room Tip: Our room was at street level and there were party goers from the music festival at 2:30 A.M. so ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lstock47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place is great. It's weirdly built and spanned out over multiple buildings and properties in the city because of the way Dawson is laid out. They have everything right there, everyone is very friendly, the only thing I hated was that there was no WiFi in our building. There is no excuse for a lack of wireless in a major hotel no matter where you are, so they really need to get with the program on that one. They only provide wireless in the main building/lobby area. Also the breakfast buffet ends at 9:30 and there was not anything indicating that before we got there, so we missed it by about 10 minutes. The service isn't amazing but the accommodations are nice, the people are generally helpful and Dawson City is a great town. This is definitely the place to stay, just don't expect WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyrannosauruswrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this hotel as a part of a cruisetour stop. Dawson City is a great small city with dirt streets and boardwalk style sidewalks. The buildings and atmosphere are a throw back to the 1800's and the Alaskan Gold rush era. The city borders the spot where the Klondike and Yukon rivers join together. The Westmark Hotel however is a modern and beautifully restored island within this historical setting. The rooms were gorgeous and modern. The hotel restaurant and lounge provided great food and service. I highly recommend this jewel in the wilderness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F4jflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our family was welcomed at midnight, without a reservation, as if we were frequent guests of Westmark's. Funny thing is that we'd never even heard of Westmark, I just knew a large hotel meant a night audit so someone would be awake at that hour!

Bonus they had a room for two nights, plus guest laundry, plus a restaurant which we visited for breakfast the next morning. Double bonus that the Chef believed in using freshly cut potatoes for breakfast (versus deep frying frozen factory cut things) and so after a good solid sleep behind thick black-out curtains, we were in for a great stay.

Yes the hotel is geared towards tour bus groups, but we never heard them collecting luggage at any godly hour, or being too loud....in fact we never heard them at all. Maybe they house them in one of the three separate buildings that comprise of the 'hotel'. Thoughtful of management and appreciated by our family.

Decor was up-to-date, very clean, free wi-fi, and friendly chambermaids (they smile and say hello).

Good job and thank you to the staff and management.

Cheers

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BicycleCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel has had some recent upgrades which were very much appreciated. Our room was a 2nd floor corner room in the "Gertie's building overlooking some of the mountain. It was hugh compared to the previous two Westmark rooms with a comfortable king size bed. Dawson City is not very big so you can walk around the "downtown" with ease. The Westmark's all see to have a similar theme of poor soundproofing. We could hear our neighbors tv and muffled conversations. The staff is wonderful which is again a constant theme with HAL.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs, corner room with a view in an updated part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxjags95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Owned by Holland America Cruise Lines, this hotel imports must of their business by bus. It is OK for regular travelers if you don't mind a second floor walk up. Decent rooms, fair cleanliness, spread out over a city block. The restaurant, Belinda's, is adequate to the task both for breakfast and dinner. While this hotel experience wouldn't rate a mention in the big city, it deserves special commendation just for being in Dawson, near the end of the world.
Be up by 7:15. That is when the diesel buses crank up beneath your window.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dawson City hotels
0.1 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 8 in Dawson City
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Triple J Hotel and Cabins
Triple J Hotel and Cabins
#4 of 8 in Dawson City
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
5th Avenue Bed & Breakfast
5th Avenue Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Dawson City
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonanza Gold Motel
Bonanza Gold Motel
#4 of 5 in Dawson City
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bombay Peggy's Inn & Pub
Bombay Peggy's Inn & Pub
#2 of 5 in Dawson City
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Inn Dawson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Inn Dawson City

Address: Fifth & Harper Streets | Box 420, Dawson City, Yukon Y0B 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Dawson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dawson City
Price Range: $103 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westmark Inn Dawson City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Westmark Inn Dawson City provides visitors with spacious and comfortable accommodations in the heart of this lively gold rush community. Guests discover warm northern hospitality at the Inn with television and a private bath in each of the 177 rooms. Enjoy wonderful meals in Belinda's Dining Room and the Keno Lounge. Dawson City retains the color and flavor of those gold rush days at the turn of the century. The Westmark Inn Dawson City is in the heart of downtown just blocks from the legendary Diamond Tooth Gertie's gambling hall. Open mid-May through mid-September for summer guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Inn Dawson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Inn Dawson City Hotel Dawson City
Westmark Hotel Dawson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing