We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek food in Dawson City? It works!”

The Drunken Goat Taverna
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Dawson City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Greek food in Dawson City? It works!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very good meal and outstanding service on the deck of the Drunken Goat. Busy place - we waited 45 minutes to get in - but in a place with limited restaurants, that's a good sign and if we'd been thinking we would have made a reservation. Not fancy but ample portions of well prepared food. Greek & less Greek food including vegetarian items. Server was a highlight. Relaxed, friendly and attentive to the right degree.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    90
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cold Beer and Good Snacks”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stopped in here during shopping and had a few cold "Yukon Red" beverages and a snack. The service was good and the beer was cold. The decorations are interesting and the seating is comfortable. It's advertised as a Greek restaurant and from what we saw on the menu it fits the theme.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zebraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Greek food in Dawson”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had dinner with my sons. Typical greek food and well done. LArge portions and a good value for the money. You will not leave this place hungry!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HAP-TRAVEL-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but very poor service”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We just spent the weekend in Dawson and went to dinner at this restaurant. The waitress seemed pleasant and quite informative about the food and menu at first but as the evening progressed she was very disappointing. I asked to order a certain beverage at which point she told me they had no milk, which was odd enough itself.

We were a party of six and when we were ready to leave, after our dirty glasses and some dishes were left on the table for 20 minutes, we were told that we could only be on one bill because it was too complicated for them to give everyone separate bills. This was so ridiculous to everyone! Not everyone has cash on them and a lot of people, including myself, use my visa for air miles. The waitress continued to roll her eyes at us as she broke up the bill and rudely told us that "it says right on the menu that they don't do this." After all of us paid her she came over to us to ask if everyone had paid. We asked if there was anything outstanding on the bill and she said no that she was $2 over - WOW, she had the nerve to start hinting that she didn't get a tip....We left a tip on the table even though it was so not deserved. I wish we hadn't and I won't go back there again...very disappointing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Yukon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great greek restaurant”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We sampled a number of restaurants in Dawson City and this was by far the best. The food was not only tasty but there was a lot of it! The atmosphere was good too. Apparently they don't advertise so I never found them mentioned in guidebooks but they are certainly worth a visit

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoanF610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drunken Goat Taverna also viewed

 
Dawson City, Yukon
 
 

Been to The Drunken Goat Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing