We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy cabin and the best food in Dawson City!”

Klondike Kate's Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Klondike Kate's Cabins
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A cosy cabin and the best food in Dawson City!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for six nights and enjoyed every minute. Our cabin was very clean, although the bathroom was a little on the compact side. Housekeeping staff were very efficient and always had a smile. The cabins are well located within easy reach of Dawson's amenities and attractions and are equipped with many eco-friendly features. Klondike Kate's restaurant is in a class of its own, it simply oozes character and every meal we had there was just superb - compliments to the chef! The only downside to the restaurant was that it wasn't open for breakfast during the week, only opening for brunch on weekend. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else on our next trip up to Dawson!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldasicequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

It is worth the extra expense to stay here. The cabin was very clean and nicely appointed. Compared to other choices in town, this is the best option.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank drmmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Loved it.
The staff at reception were very helpful and friendly throughout our five night stay. Always saying hello to our daughter and remembering her name. The cabins were clean and comfortable and the housekeeping staff always had a smile to share.
We ate at the restaurant every night and found it to be well priced and the staff here were also friendly.
We would definately stay at Kate's again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We stayed here two nigts. I found our cabin spacious and clean with very comfortable bed. Good location in downtown. Near the cabin there is the restaurant where we ate the best food of Dawson. Higly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puffin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Let me start by saying that there were 4 of us in for breakfast. The menu was extensive, BUT, that didn't translate into good food. The breakfast cost $14 each plus about another $2 for coffee or tea. It wasn't cheap! We all sampled each other's meal, and arrived at the same conclusion: the meals lacked in flavor, presentation, and quantity. The omelets were somewhat small, the egg dishes were not done to order (eggs ordered over easy came back hard as a rock done). The coffee was so-so and the small amount of 'homemade jam' squirted into a tiny paper cup was not sufficient to cover even one slice of the cold toast. We should have eaten at the Westmark Inn like we had the previous day. The prices were the same, but the food and coffee was far better (all you could eat buffet including everything). We were adventurous, however, and paid dearly for it!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank largsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We found this to be a relaxing, clean place to stay. Nothing fancy but very convenient to everything in Dawson City. The desk staff offered to provide ice for our cooler in addition to ice for the bucket.
The first step up at the cabin we stayed in is way too high for most people with any mobility issue, bad back, etc. though.
The restaurant was a good place for breakfast even though my cousin was miffed at being charged $2 extra for salsa to put on her scrambled eggs. When asking for something extra, always ask about extra charges.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North American
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I like a firm mattress but this was ridiculous! Neither my companion nor I got much sleep which was a real downer after the 5+ hour drive from Whitehorse. The mattress was like a rock- seriously. Also, the pillows were very hard & thick- too bulky for either of us to use while laying down.

We were out at Diamond Tooth Gertie's until the early morning, so we didn't get up to shower until about noon. My boyfriend was in the shower for less than 10 minutes, and I went in right after... within 3 minutes (mid-shampoo) there was no more hot water! I could maybe be a little more understanding it was during the "morning rush", or if I'd had a decent sleep. It took quite a long time for the hot water to come back on, but once it did, I finished and we were outside enjoying the sites & sun. (I agree, the towels are plush & lovely.)

Location is a moot point in Dawson because it's so tiny the hotels are all only a few streets apart. Our 1 Queen bed cabin was very clean, good sized with a bar fridge, coffee maker, and small but nicely appointed bathroom. However, there is an icky, matted bathmat in from of the shower though-- eww! THROW IT OUT!!! (I forgot to take a photo of it, but I was careful not to step on it). It was $147CDN, which is to be expected because Dawson City is VERY expensive, but given the bed, I cannot say it was good value, and I will no be staying here in my future visits to Dawson City.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKUltra3340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dawson City hotels
0.3 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 8 in Dawson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westmark Inn Dawson City
Westmark Inn Dawson City
#2 of 8 in Dawson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triple J Hotel and Cabins
Triple J Hotel and Cabins
#4 of 8 in Dawson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
5th Avenue Bed & Breakfast
5th Avenue Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Dawson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonanza Gold Motel
Bonanza Gold Motel
#5 of 5 in Dawson City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klondike Kate's Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klondike Kate's Cabins

Property: Klondike Kate's Cabins
Address: 3rd & King Street, Dawson City, Yukon Y0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Dawson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dawson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Klondike Kate's Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kate’s is a seasonal business located in the heart of Dawson City, Yukon, home of the famous Klondike Gold Rush. After a long journey, check into one of our cozy, rustic cabins then relax on the deck and enjoy a great meal at our acclaimed restaurant. We speak English, French and German, and look forward to making your stay a true northern experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing