We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip.”

Great River Fishing Adventures
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Chilliwack
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1988, we are one of the largest fully guided sport-fishing operators on the Fraser River and it's tributaries. Every year, thousands of tourists from all over the world visit us to experience the world-renowned fishing and natural wonder of the Fraser River in beautiful British Columbia. This calm water fishery features over ten species of sport fish and year round opportunities for the novice and expert angler alike. We fish the #1 Sturgeon, Salmon and Trout rivers in the World. We specialize in multiple styles of fishing to meet the needs of any angler. Have you ever caught or touched a real living Dinosaur? We specialize in targeting White Sturgeon, a species that can grow over 20 feet in length and over a 1000lbs. These magnificent creatures make spectacular jumping displays and runs that will excite every angler. We also fish for all 5 species of Wild Pacific Salmon and boast the largest and most experienced team of fly fishing guides on the entire river. We exclusively travel to the Upper Pitt River and Lillooet River to chase sea run Dolly Varden, Bull Trout, Rainbow and migrating Salmon. When fishing with us the opportunities are endless and each adventure is personally customized so you can focus on the reason you are here......to fish!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Fished for sturgeon with our guide Curtis on May 29th, 2014.
River was up a bit, but we caught four fish, the biggest being 63".
We had a great time and will be back.

Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean W, Owner at Great River Fishing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Hi Biran, It was very nice of you to leave a review on your day on the river. Curtis and our entire team at Great River Fishing is on the water year round and that gives us a huge advantage to knowing where the fish are most days. We are happy that your experience was "great" and we hope you come and join us again in the future years. We appreciate your business and feedback.
<")))><DW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fish"
in 303 reviews
"my son"
in 44 reviews
"catch and release"
in 14 reviews
"hour trip"
in 23 reviews
"next year"
in 29 reviews
"mighty fraser"
in 13 reviews
"bucket list"
in 23 reviews
"caught sturgeon"
in 19 reviews
"these guys"
in 26 reviews
"father's day"
in 6 reviews
"great guide"
in 24 reviews
"white sturgeon"
in 19 reviews
"can't wait to go again"
in 7 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 12 reviews
"great trip"
in 16 reviews
"foot sturgeon"
in 13 reviews
"four hours"
in 7 reviews
Filter

347 - 351 of 599 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Again we had a great time with our knowledgeable guide Curtis who showed us some beautiful fishing spots along with some Sturgeon.. We do look forward to our next trip next month and we do recommend Curtis and GRFA for all your Fishing Fantasies and Fun..

1  Thank Johnny O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean W, Owner at Great River Fishing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Hi Johnny O, We appreciate you taking the time to review our fishing adventures. Our team at GRFA looks forward to each and every adventure that we have you and your family out for and hope that each time you are here you learn a little more about our area and all the fish species we are so lucky to have here. See you soon <")))><DW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We went sturgeon fishing on the Fraser River near Mission with Great River Fishing Adventures. We had two 12-year old girls along for the experience. Their guide was extremely informative and had a lot of patience answering all the questions that the girls had about sturgeon. They caught a small sturgeon and the girls were given the opportunity to learn about tagging and measuring the fish. In our boat, we caught a 4'10" sturgeon that we also tagged. The guides made the trip extremely enjoyable by sharing their knowledge and passion for the Fraser River and for white sturgeon. I would highly recommend this activity for adults and families alike.

Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean W, Owner at Great River Fishing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, Our team at GRFA prides itself on making every experience one to remember for all ages and levels of experience. Our team commitment to the Sturgeon mark recapture program is very interesting and with over 54,000 White Sturgeon now tagged collectively we have learned so much information about this prehistoric giant and we are happy to share that with everyone. We hope you join us again in the future and bring back your girls. <")))><DW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have went on a four hour trip with the great river fishing adventures and it var great!
At first the day did not look so great because there was a little drizzle and we have only printed the licence recepts not the licence. when we got out we got a fish the 5 minutes(85 cm). Then like a hour later we got another bite with a 108 cm fish. Afther that we did not catch anithing for a hour or so so our guide told us its best if we would try another spot, so we did. After about 15 min we got a bite from the beast. He was huge!! it took us about 20 min to land him and then we figured he was not tagged yet. We tagged him took a bunch of photos. He measured 6 feet 1. This was a great adventure lll remember for a lifetime. I realy recomend going.

Thank stefansk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean W, Owner at Great River Fishing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Hi Stefan, thanks for your review and we are glad that your day included catching some of these incredible species of fish. Our GRFA guide team tries hard to catch fish on every outing and to show all clients about the mark recapture program and teach about Sturgeon. We hope that you will tell your friends and come and join us again in the future years. Thanks for your business! <")))><DW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

It has taken me since the fall to be diligent about writing a review. I am not a good typist, so I put it off. I owe a huge thanks to Dean and guide Dave for providing this fishing adventure for my boy Elijah.

Elijah was born with cerebral palsy, which hasn't stopped him from seeking adventure and things able bodied boys do. He is 12 years old and needs his wheelchair for support and caregivers for everything else. He is super passionate.

Dean had heard of Elijah from my buddy in Yellowknife, who fishes with Great River Fishing every couple of years. I remember how I had told my friend of a fishing charter on the East side of Vancouver Island where Elijah caught nothing all day, but cried when I took him off the boat! I guess the story reached Dean and they decided to invite Elijah and myself out on the boat and join them for a day on the mighty Fraser!

Elijah's muscles go quite stiff when he is excited and was not able to reel, even hand over hand. Even watching, his excitement could not be suppressed, as the hooked sturgeon came into the sling for measuring. After hours in his chair, Elijah opted for some close up action when I pulled him out to touch, smell, and kiss some of these prehistoric beauties. Get real close, close enough to be slapped by a tail!

Sun up to sun down, an unforgettable experience, and pictures and video to show his awestruck friends in school! Thank you Dean for having compassion for those less able, and doing something great for my special boy. Thank you guide Dave for expert guiding, stories, teaching, and making room for a wheelchair on your boat! We both had a very memorable trip.

1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean W, Owner at Great River Fishing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Tim and Elijah, Thanks for taking the time to tell your story! Our team at GRFA was thrilled to meet you both and to fulfill Elijah's dream of fishing and catching a Sturgeon. If we take the time to put in the effort to make someone's day or life better by giving a experience like this one, we all get to enjoy the heartfelt story you have told. Making this difference is what GRFA has always been about. I can't say how lucky we are to have been able to fish with you both and to make this a positive experience. <")))><DW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great River Fishing Adventures also viewed

 
Chilliwack, British Columbia
Chilliwack, British Columbia
 

Been to Great River Fishing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing