We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets requirements”
Review of Vedder River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vedder River Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Chilliwack
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Meets requirements”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Vedder presents nicely with good landscaping and nice looking rooms. My room was clean and had plenty of space. However, the lighting was very dim. I wasn't able to find Kleenex in the room so had to make do with toilet tissue or run to the car to get my own tissue. Breakfast was not included. There are restaurants in the area, though. There was some confusion about price when booking because the on-line rate wasn't stated clearly and differed significantly from the rate quoted by Vedder over the phone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will take all your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    61
    28
    5
    10
See reviews for
37
50
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prince George
Level Contributor
149 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed two nights here so we got a good feel for the rooms, staff, and location. First of all the staff was great at the both check in and check out. There is no restaurant to eat at but the hotel does offer discounts at two places just a short walk away. They did offer coffee and fruit in the morning. The rooms were clean and nicely updated. the heated bathroom floor was a nice touch. The only drawback was the walls were thin and you could hear talking and foot steps from above. Also the first night a group of teenagers were there and they were very noisy. All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyTRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Every response is important , to help us continue to improve our guest services.

Sincerely

Leslie Schopf
Vedder River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I travel extensively throughout North America for sales and have stayed at a plethora of hotels. Some great and some horrific. There are really only 3 things that make a hotel room good in my book. 1. Bed - it has to be comfy and clean 2. Room - is it in shambles? does the heat/AC work?
3. Internet - is it fast and reliable?

Vedder River Inn met all three of my criteria and then continued to wow me.
Not only was their front desk staff friendly and accommodating, but they also had a 2 computer business center in the lobby with a nice 3 in 1 printer!

Not bad for $75/nt!

I would definately stay here again and would recommend this to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor if you don't want to walk up some stairs, but ask for a top floor if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0adwarri0r_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Public Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Super to hear thanks for taking the time to write a review. We will make sure your top three list is continually met for each guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Room was nice and clean plus a good size for the 2 of us. Bed was very comfortable and our room also had a tv and fridge. Bathroom was a good size with a shower and clean towels. One thing I would say is the room lacks character, maybe a bit of colour. The only thing is that in the night the fridge did seem loud which woke me up a couple of times. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included but it is only mainly a coffee and a muffin. Close to shops and restuarants.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second level which was quite, the only time you heard someone was when they wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Public Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Chilliwack.

Sincerely,
Leslie Schopf
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a very affordable, clean and well located hotel. After traveling across Canada to relocate in chilliwack, we needed to stay for 5 days waiting for our new place. It was just perfect. We got the exact jr. Suite I requested, with a small kitchenette and all the services needed. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is always parking and it is located along the most important avenue of the city. By Staying here you get a 4 stars hotel for the price of a 2 stars one. You can't get better than that!
Thank you.

Room Tip: 247 is like a small apartment that feels like home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, General Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Here at the Vedder River Inn all of the staff thank you for your wonderful feed back. Your input is important to us. Our goal is to thrive for better customer service and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We are happy we could make your transition to your new home an easier one welcome to Chilliwack. :)

All the best and take care.

Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stayed here numerous times achewing more convenient, full-service locations in favour of this more homey, lower-key property. It provided a reasonably reliable room at good value. No longer.
My last stay was merely mediocre, at an elevated price point one would associate with a better property. Few amenities, a disappointingly unconfortable bed and a climate control system from the 1970's. Why bother? Stay downtown...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geejaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, General Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
The vedder River Inn – Newest built Inn in Chilliwack has many nice restaurants within walking distance and some are kind enough to offer discounts. As mentioned you have stayed with us several times and we value your input. Due to economy we have tried to keep our rates lower than any other competitors in town. We are sorry for the slight increase in rates. We are sad to see you go and wish you all of the best.

Vedder River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only about 60 rooms in this hotel, a ways from the highway, backs onto apartment buildings and not a river as the description may suggest, I booked directly through the hotel and at first they wouldn't want to give me the rate advertised on their web site, not sure why, the hotel was not even booked 40 %. The next morning the front desk lady complained to me about the other front desk worker the night before (the one which didn't want to give me the rate) but this shouldn't be done in front of guests. They promote restaurants in the area in a way as if they are getting a commission. The common areas don't seem to get cleaned very often. Internet shut off a 10 pm (there is a computer in the front desk area used by staff and maybe if that one gets shut off, all is down?). TV is fairly small

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is very important to us. All staff should honour the internet rates so I am sorry there was confusion in this regard. We do not receive commission from any business that we contact to give our guests a discount. We will definitely be addressing the cleanliness of the common areas. Our rooms are hardwired for internet so I am assuming it was the wifi that disconnected, so I do apologize for this. We do have a complimentary computer for guest use in the main lobby. Most rooms have 32" TV's and it is on our wish list to continually upgrade our TV size as finances allow. We thank you again for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chilliwack hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn By Hilton Chilliwack
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Chilliwack
Travelodge Chilliwack
#5 of 9 in Chilliwack
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.2 mi away
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chilliwack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 9 in Chilliwack
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chilliwack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Rainbow Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedder River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedder River Inn

Property: Vedder River Inn
Address: 5788 Vedder Rd, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2R 1C4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Chilliwack
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Chilliwack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vedder River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 50 unit Chilliwack hotel, 5 minutes south off of HWY #1, Exit #119. Nearby Cultus Lake, Canada Lands, and the Vedder River. Luxury suites available. Multipurpose room also available for small meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Vedder River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedder River Hotel Chilliwack

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing