We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute boutique hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chilliwack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I loved the creakiness of the floors, the claw foot tub, down quilt, comfortable pillows, and transom windows above the doors. It made me feel as if I was going back to another era. The room was super clean, and the beds comfortable. I recently moved to the Chilliwack area and have eaten in the hotel restaurant several times on separate occasions and the food is always delicious, and well prepared.

A great place to stay in downtown Chilliwack at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a claw foot tub just for the experience.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraceT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thanks for describing your experience here - some things do need to be experienced to be enjoyed! In addition to the character of the hotel, we do want to make sure that expectations of cleanliness, comfortable beds and great food in the café are also part of the experience. Again, thanks for your comments - we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 206 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Combine one of the best prices for a hotel in Chilliwack, great customer service, a comfortable place to stay, and a cool old hotel experience, and you have the Royal Hotel. Loved the old flooring, the high ceilings, and the ambiance. One anecdote to illustrate something about this hotel. It is an older building so the window was rattling a little and was bothering me as I tried to fall asleep, so I stuffed some paper into the crack and it was fine. The next day the cleaning lady noticed the paper, and had the window looked after, and it was perfect for night two. Great service!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thanks for your comments. Hey, we want the whole experience of having stayed at the Royal to be, well... Royal! Are pleased that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed what we had to offer: our character hotel and location, our service, and great value. We look forward to having you come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Although the hotel was an older building, my hotel suite was nicely furnished. The smallest rooms are smaller than other suites I have stayed at but also more affordable and the room felt clean. The concierge team was friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located in a convenient location (i.e. downtown Chilliwack). Of the three other hotels/inns I have stayed at in Chilliwack, I would rank this one No. 1 based on the aforementioned criteria. For light sleepers, it can get a bit noisy in the morning (i.e. shower/faucet noises from adjacent suites, doors opening/closing in the hallways) but nothing a good set of earplugs can't adequately circumvent. My overall "Excellent" rating takes into account the value I got per money spent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thanks for providing your comments. Getting excellent value is so important - thanks for affirming for us that we are on the right track. Impeccable cleanliness should be the standard; the downtown location does provide for some excellent opportunities for shops and eateries, including the café and pub at the Royal. Being the older building that it is with it's wood floors and antique doors, the sounds of life are very alive in it although we are taking whatever steps possible to mitigate noise as much as possible. Again, thanks for your comments, we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a lovely old hotel but with a very comfortable bed, great pillow choices, duvet & immaculate bedding. I'm particular about bedding and really appreciated the cleanliness and comfort offered at the Royal. The staff members were super helpful and all went the extra mile. The bath arrangements were a little unconventional compared to standard hotel bedrooms but quite acceptable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

So much appreciated your review. Thanks for enjoying the old charm, cleanliness and comfort. Enjoyed your comment about the interesting bath arrangements - it's what was required to make the old come to be what we like to enjoy and live with today. Yes, unconventional, but part of the character of the Royal. Do come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hotel located in the old part of downtown. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food at the Royal Cafe was very delicious and very reasonably priced. The only downside the cable television had only a limited number of channels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks for staying with us and providing your careful comments about your experience. We do enjoy having guests stay with us and the good value at the café - both the quality and the price - just add to a good experience. Will check further into the cable channel options - we certainly wouldn't want you to miss something important. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recently returned from a fishing holiday in BC and I had the pleasure of staying at the Royal Hotel. The interior was like no other hotel I have stayed in, a real throwback to colonial times, with wood paneling and decor. The staff were friendly and willing to go the extra mile to accomodate our needs during the duration of my stay. The place has real character and is as far detached from the usual 'sterile hotel' as you could possibly imagine. It is nice to see someone is prepared to 'think outside the box' and give quality at a reasonable price. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Well, thanks for staying with us and enjoying the character and pleasantness of staying with us. Providing that quality alternative at great value is what we want to continue to do. While there is that "throwback", everything that is expected in a hotel room today is in place as well, as you noted so well. We'll look forward to your next return. Thanks for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently had a business conference at Harrison Hot Springs and decided to stay in Canada an extra day. To my utter delight, I discovered the Royal Hotel. I have always appreciated history and the efforts of the management to preserve the character of this hotel is amazing. And if that wasn't enough, Eileen, at the front desk was a joy. Not only did she show us several rooms to consider, she also gave excellent recommendations of where to go watch the game and get a 'beer and a burger'. She even called the place to make sure they had the game on!!
I will definitely go back to the Royal Hotel, as well as the Royal Cafe. Thank you for your generous hospitality. I felt right at home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clonbur83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks for sharing your review - and for staying with us. Finding the right balance with keeping the history alive and being there 105 years later is the fun that we are having at the Royal. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the good food and the location for other activities. So did your team win? Thanks for your comments about guest service as well - we do want to provide that exquisite service that makes you enjoy your stay and want to come back. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chilliwack hotels
0.2 mi away
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chilliwack
787 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Chilliwack
181 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn By Hilton Chilliwack
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Chilliwack
Travelodge Chilliwack
#7 of 9 in Chilliwack
412 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Rainbow Country Inn
4.4 mi away
Vedder River Inn
Vedder River Inn
#6 of 9 in Chilliwack
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 45886 Wellington Ave, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 2C7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Chilliwack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chilliwack
Price Range: $87 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our charming heritage hotel in the heart of Chilliwack, we carry on the tradition of service and quality that began with our establishment over a century ago. Lovingly maintained with original antique appointments, our hotel offers a window into the past while providing the modern traveler with all the comforts of home.Our accommodations feature hotel rooms with authentic period details including hardwood floors, vintage furniture and clawfoot tubs, complemented by 21st-century perks like free Wi-Fi and flatscreen TVs. Located near the historic Five Corners in downtown Chilliwack, the Royal Hotel is surrounded by shops and restaurants that reflect the heritage of our original city centre. It's an easy walk to Prospera Centre, the Law Courts and dozens of other Chilliwack, BC attractions. The Royal Hotel is more than just a place to sleep. It's an experience. It's a gateway to the past and a place to celebrate the present. Most of all, it's a place to be taken care of by people who truly value your business. Every guest is special to us and every stay deserves to be unforgettable. Book one of our historic Royal Hotel rooms today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing