We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for a king......”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chilliwack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recently returned from a fishing holiday in BC and I had the pleasure of staying at the Royal Hotel. The interior was like no other hotel I have stayed in, a real throwback to colonial times, with wood paneling and decor. The staff were friendly and willing to go the extra mile to accomodate our needs during the duration of my stay. The place has real character and is as far detached from the usual 'sterile hotel' as you could possibly imagine. It is nice to see someone is prepared to 'think outside the box' and give quality at a reasonable price. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Well, thanks for staying with us and enjoying the character and pleasantness of staying with us. Providing that quality alternative at great value is what we want to continue to do. While there is that "throwback", everything that is expected in a hotel room today is in place as well, as you noted so well. We'll look forward to your next return. Thanks for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 219 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently had a business conference at Harrison Hot Springs and decided to stay in Canada an extra day. To my utter delight, I discovered the Royal Hotel. I have always appreciated history and the efforts of the management to preserve the character of this hotel is amazing. And if that wasn't enough, Eileen, at the front desk was a joy. Not only did she show us several rooms to consider, she also gave excellent recommendations of where to go watch the game and get a 'beer and a burger'. She even called the place to make sure they had the game on!!
I will definitely go back to the Royal Hotel, as well as the Royal Cafe. Thank you for your generous hospitality. I felt right at home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clonbur83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks for sharing your review - and for staying with us. Finding the right balance with keeping the history alive and being there 105 years later is the fun that we are having at the Royal. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the good food and the location for other activities. So did your team win? Thanks for your comments about guest service as well - we do want to provide that exquisite service that makes you enjoy your stay and want to come back. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This building has been remodeled but has kept some of the original fittings such as clawfoot bathtubs. Clean and spacious. No elevator but that did not inconvenience us at all.
The front desk staff were very helpful, pleasant and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again. Location very central.

Room Tip: If you are fit, choose the top floor if possible as it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianONeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks for providing your review and enjoying the experience of staying with us. Actually, the claw foot tubs are part of the remodel. When the hotel was built, the only bathroom facilities were common "down the hall" type facilities! But the claw tub does reflect the period of the hotel. The central location to downtown with the cultural and sports facilities all nearby as well as some unique shopping does make for a great location. Look forward to your next visit here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed one night on a little getaway from the city. Room was very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Had wonderful character and was much smaller than more modern hotel rooms; but still everything one would need (so happy there was a kuerig in the room) the only suggestion I would like to see is a newer tv as well as new pillows-ours were flatish. Great location with some lovely shops and great to have both a restaurant and a pub in the location.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator so keep that in mind if you have access issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and to provide your comments. Making sure that the rooms meet your every need is important to us - so thanks for your comments. Another option for your next stay would be to stay in one of our Antique themed rooms that would be larger than the European sized Comfort room you had for this stay. Having the unique shops to walk to and the café and pub in the hotel does make for a great and relaxing getaway weekend. Thanks for staying - we'll look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Found this one out by a local who recommended it as we didn't plan on staying in Chilliwack. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Hotel appears to have been refurbished recently, our room had a claw foot bath and toilet. We found the room spacious and comfortable. The cafe attached to the Hotel was good and the staff lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us and providing your review comments. You are correct that we have refurbished the rooms to have them keep their historical character and yet be comfortable with the amenities and comforts you expect. The convenience of a good café that serves you well and with great food certainly makes the stay enjoyable and convenient. Again, thanks for staying - and hopefully we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel very welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and we loved the old claw footed bath tub in the room. Parking was provided at back of hotel so not far to walk with luggage. Food available in cafe attached to hotel which was excellent and there was 10% off of breakfast as we were guests in hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peakg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hey we're so pleased that among all the choices you had, you chose to stay with us! Providing exquisite service and impeccable cleanliness is what we want to provide to all our guests. Having the Royal Café in the hotel with it's excellent selection of food is just another plus for all our guests. Thanks for staying with us - look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights whilst on a fabulous fishing trip. Staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. Room was clean and spacious and had great free WiFi. Whole place had a lovely atmosphere and heaps of history. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. I ate at The District Pub opposite which served cold beer and the best burgers ever !
Would definitely stay again - thanks guys.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Ah, yes, it was a great fishing trip - take a look at that pic! Thanks so much for staying with us and providing your comments about our hotel. That downtown location does provide for some great options to explore and enjoy variety of foods and drink. We'll look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chilliwack hotels
0.2 mi away
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chilliwack
828 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn By Hilton Chilliwack
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Chilliwack
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Chilliwack
Travelodge Chilliwack
#7 of 9 in Chilliwack
423 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Rainbow Country Inn
4.4 mi away
Vedder River Inn
Vedder River Inn
#6 of 9 in Chilliwack
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 45886 Wellington Ave, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 2C7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Chilliwack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chilliwack
Price Range: $63 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our charming heritage hotel in the heart of Chilliwack, we carry on the tradition of service and quality that began with our establishment over a century ago. Lovingly maintained with original antique appointments, our hotel offers a window into the past while providing the modern traveler with all the comforts of home.Our accommodations feature hotel rooms with authentic period details including hardwood floors, vintage furniture and clawfoot tubs, complemented by 21st-century perks like free Wi-Fi and flatscreen TVs. Located near the historic Five Corners in downtown Chilliwack, the Royal Hotel is surrounded by shops and restaurants that reflect the heritage of our original city centre. It's an easy walk to Prospera Centre, the Law Courts and dozens of other Chilliwack, BC attractions. The Royal Hotel is more than just a place to sleep. It's an experience. It's a gateway to the past and a place to celebrate the present. Most of all, it's a place to be taken care of by people who truly value your business. Every guest is special to us and every stay deserves to be unforgettable. Book one of our historic Royal Hotel rooms today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing