We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favourite casual eatery”
Review of Willow Street Cafe

Willow Street Cafe
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Chemainus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are proud to serve consistent and fresh food prepared daily. Although we do not take reservations, we have a lot of table space and we are quick and efficient at what we do. We look forward to serving you.
Ladysmith, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A favourite casual eatery”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

During our first year as residents of Ladysmith my wife and I have made frequent visits to the Willow Street Café. As of yet we have always enjoyed the excellent food and friendly service. Most times the owners Phil and Michelle have always greeted us on our visits, we understand when the café is extremely busy the greetings are not always possible but they make up for it at another time. We have recommended this café to many others and will continue to do so.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael and Bon... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi M + B (Sorry I couldn't read your full name B) and thank you for the review. Thank you for continuing to support and frequent our cafe. Obviously Ladysmith has a lot of great spots to dine and it's nice to know you make the drive to come see us! We always try to say hello even during busy times...unfortunately, it's hard to always meet and greet when we're slammed. I'm glad we make it up on future visits :)

Look forward to seeing you again.

Phil and Michelle Mavis
Owners/Operators
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    79
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The cinnamon rolls save them; otherwise very disappointing”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived mid-afternoon on a Monday and ordered the quiche and salad. Best thing I can say about that part of the meal was that the salad dressing was flavourful and interesting. The rest was very average - dried out quiche, boring salad ingredients - overpriced at $11.95 The only thing that saved this experience for us was the excellent cinnamon roll, which had been recommended by a colleague. Great venue that would have lots of potential for a committed and competent chef. Won't go back, except maybe for one of the aforementioned cinnamon rolls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qualicumfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Qualicumfoodie and thank you for your review. It's hard as an owner to hear your experience was so negative. I'm glad you found our salad dressing acceptable as we make it from scratch, much like the majority of our food. My wife made your cinnamon roll and she'll be happy you enjoyed that.
Sadly, it's obvious a mistake was made and you were served a quiche that you found dried out and the salad boring. Unlike the traditional way to serve quiche (room temperature), we heat ours in the oven and it's obvious from your words it was over done. We are human and have made mistakes before and in the past. We try to keep these to an absolute minimum and we apologize for our mistake in this instance.
I appreciate you letting us know about these short comings but I would like to implore you to never hesitate to let us know during your visit so we can attempt to rectify the problem or prepare you something completely different to your satisfaction. Rest assured, we are competent and most certainly committed to our business and your experience with us should you return.

Regards,
Phil Mavis
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and venue!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The simplicity of the food and venue keeps us coming for more. In fact, the soup is so good that we would like to buy too much and take it home to freeze! My fav? The Curry chicken Quesidilla (sp?) Great way to start your afternoon in Chemainus or finish your day with a relaxed, delicious meal! Plus, you can have your dog(s) on the deck!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanaimo2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Nanaimo2100 and thank you for your review! You hit the nail on the head, our food is simple and prepared fresh daily. We are so happy that you continue to return. Please let us know if we ever miss the mark as we like to keep your experience consistent. Sadly, patio weather will be gone soon but your hairy kid(s) are still welcome on the deck or under our back landing to keep them dry! Thanks again for your review.

Regards,
Phil and Michelle Mavis
Owners/Operators
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh & tasty”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had two bbq chicken wraps and opted for pasta salad & green salad w/mango dressing. Everything was fresh and very tasty. There was nothing ordinary or boring.The pasta salad contained a variety of vegies with a tangy dressing that had a bit of bite to it. The mango dressing on the tossed salad was awesome - both salads were topped off with dried cranberries. The chicken in the wraps was tasty & moist, and the variety of items in the wrap were surprising. It was a great stop and we'll be back. And they chill-up the Corona's quite nicely too! I had to think hard on an improvement, so while minor - the daily specials were only on a board on the outside patio, not repeated inside and the young lady taking our orders wasn't able to remind us the specials. Overall, I highly recommend this stop to anyone looking for quality food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LJinthePeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review LJinthePeg! We love your attention to detail! I also like your suggestion for a "Special Board" on the side patio. I will definitely run it by my wife (the REAL boss - haha). We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Phil and Michelle Mavis
Owners/Operators
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“thank u to michelle and phil for giving so much.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

someone wrote that the staff didnt not wave or greed them and i think this person just had a bad they and feel like putting someone down. iv been to willow street cafe for years now and im from restaurant business and i have to say this is well manage. the staff is always smiling and happy even wen they dont know ur looking. the food is always perfect and they care to know if its to the clients convenience. iv never seen anything dirty or sign of dirtiness. the owners r experience and caring about the business and that cute little town they in. they even go overboard with a nice thing they call art beat on the summer Fridays wen they close the street and let artist use the opportunity to expose there talent on the street for an evening. they even do music on Saturday night cause the people of the town keep saying it would be nice to have music at night. the lovely couple Michelle and Phil try there best to make every one enjoy a good moment at there cafe and i think they do a very good job. we need more business owners like this two.
josh

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank josh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Josh,

Thanks for your kind review. We definitely aren't perfect although we love to try. I also appreciate you mentioning the other community events we and many other merchants on Willow Street host to create community spirit.

Having said that, we'll do everything we can to avoid living up to that review title. Thanks again for your support my friend and loyal customer.

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Street Cafe also viewed

Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Willow Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing