We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”
Review of Willow Street Cafe

Willow Street Cafe
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Chemainus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are proud to serve consistent and fresh food prepared daily. Although we do not take reservations, we have a lot of table space and we are quick and efficient at what we do. We look forward to serving you.
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a surprise! Such a comfortable environement with fabulous food quality and quantity.
The owners are a young couple who are right there, managing every aspect of the operation and staying tuned in to their clients. Despite being incredibly busy around the lunch hour, the kitchen was most efficient in turning the orders out. Whenever we come to Chemainus for a play, this is the only restaurant we will choose in future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Peter! Word of mouth advertising really stands out and a lot of people use Trip Advisor so thank you again. We value your repeat business and please let us know if we ever miss the mark. We hope you loved Singin' in the Rain too!

Regards,
Phil Mavis
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    83
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice days outing”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you are ever visiting Vancouver Island make sure you stop in Chemainus to view all the wall murals or even take in a play at the local theatre. While there stop in at the Willow Street Cafe for a relaying lunch. The meals are great and so is the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Lynn and thank you for your review. If we ever make a mistake and let you down, please let us know. I'm sure the Festival of Murals and the Chemainus Theatre will love that you mentioned them too! Have a great day and we hope to see you again!

Regards,
Phil Mavis
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Healthy food!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

They had a great lunch menu and we chose their soup and salad combo for something about $10 which had a nice large bowl of ginger/yam soup and a great garden salad with nice fixin's! They had a lot of nice lunch items to offer. The wooden building has a great ambience and the patio, where we sat, is large and right on the main street. The staff were great and attentive. I would recommend a trip to Chemainus for murals and lunch here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Jasygirl,

Thank you very much for your kind review and recommendation of our cafe and our town. It looks like we did our job well and we're proud to hear about it. Please stop in and see us again when you're visiting from Calgary!

Best regards,
Phil Mavis
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
“Warm & Inviting”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were there on May 15th and enjoyed a good and delicious lunch (homemade of course). Pleasant and warm atmosphere with very courteous staff. Thank you Willow St. Cafe !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gotiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi Gotiez,

Thank YOU for the review. I will ensure the team sees your kind words. We look forward to serving you again!

Phil Mavis
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious food.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great quality food, all is made there, the salsa, the soups, the baked goods. Located in old beautiful character building.
Friendly staff, we totally recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Maria.

Thank you for your review highlighting the quality of our food. Our menu is not pretentious or over the top, just simple home cooked food. You're right too, pretty much everything is made here on site. I do have to admit though that we bring in the salsa. We discovered it at a food show and just had to make it part of our condiments.
As well, we take a lot of pride in our team and you mentioning our friendly staff certainly gives us a boost. I will ensure that they see your kind words.

Regards,
Phil Mavis
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Street Cafe also viewed

Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Willow Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing