We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Poisoning?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ding Ho Chemainus Restaurant - CLOSED

Ding Ho Chemainus Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Chemainus, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Poisoning?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The food here isn't that bad, minus the fact every time i eat any kind of meat there I very sick for at least the next two days. I was told that the same cutting board is used for everything. So if i do chose to eat here its veggies only. I am not the only one i know of that has gotten sick after eating here, I do not recommend it, go up in to chemainus and go to WINGS. Just warning everyone BE CAREFUL and eat there at your own risk. When you're eating it you would never think that within the next few hours you will be curled up in a ball puking your brains out. I am also not the only person I know that it has happened to. I've also been told the kitchen isn't very sanitary.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 411scow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have eaten twice here, both times having the smorg. The first time we arrived around 6:45 pm and found most items were not refilled on the smorgasboard, no adjustment was made to the price. The second time we went at 5:30 and obviosly this was the right time. One thing, when the advertisement reads "over 20 items on the smorgasboard" we expected to see atleast 21, there were 17. The food is good here, not excellent but good. The premises could do with some updating and some serious cleaning. We will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank MARKAYDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“food is average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

we ate there twice. They make it fast but nothing speacial, it like any other chinese food restaurant. Portions are big and satisfying.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank s B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best on Vancouver Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I am a Chinese Food efficiencanado as going up in Vancouver. Were ever I live I search out good Chinese food and the Ding Ho knocks it out of the park. Don't be critical on the decor, the food make up for it. Always our stop either by car or boat ( there's a dock a block away)

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GulfIslanders066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We went here on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews and because there only seemed to be one other restaurant open after 7pm in Chemainus. The waitress was very friendly but the food was decidedly average and decor very basic. My husband had sweet and sour pork but it was more batter than pork and they seemed to use a lot of MSG. My advice would be to go to Duncan for food as there were lots of restaurants there.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank inspiration08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ding Ho Chemainus Restaurant also viewed

Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing