We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little unexpected grandness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemainus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little unexpected grandness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is about 8 years old? The nicest BW we have ever stayed at. The room design was so different and so fit our "lifestyle"...two TV's!!! Bed in its own "space" so the night owl...could be one!! Very quiet to...no doors opening, closing and no toilets flushing!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainushotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    122
    22
    1
    0
See reviews for
140
214
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North America
Level Contributor
209 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Considering there is really no other major hotel in the Chemanius area the prices at this place are reasonable. The rooms and nice, large and clean. In fact the whole place is clean! Staff are friendly and there are nice touches like the motorcycle cleaning station in the parking lot (we don't have a motorcycle), and the treats for the puppies in the lobby (and we don't have a dog!)

Room Tip: If you get one of the higher rooms you may get an ocean view over the lumber mill yard. View over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suitscase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainushotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, much appriciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our room would be properly defined as a "suite", for it had a kitchenette, as well as comfortable living area, replete with desk and two televisions, one for the living area, the other for the bedroom nook - handily tucked away from the main area with pocket doors to close for privacy.
Like the rest of the suite, the bathroom was clean, with a large bath/shower. Self-serve continental breakfast is included,
Gym facilities and a salt water swimming pool are also available for guests. As it was very hot when we visited, we took full advantage of the pool every afternoon!
There were computers available for use in the lobby.
This felt like a comfortable, easy going place and well cared for. Staff are amenable and friendly.
Great place to call home if you're in the area to look at murals, go to the Theatre, or explore the region for its history or scenery, like Cowichan Lake with the artisans and wineries, or the forests for that sense of timelessness.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel would be a good choice. We were on the north east side, so it was a bit coole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainushotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and suggestions for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

My stay at best western Chemainus, was enjoyable, staff was friendly, comfortable beds. Only a couple of negatives: The only lady's bathroom in the pool area( women's) toilet was out of order. And the very late check in time (4pm) although they did allow us in earlier for that stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainushotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, our check in time is standard for the industry as we need time to make sure our rooms are clean and ready for our guests.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was in town for four days for business and the Best Western was great for this stay. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the room was quite comfortable, and the breakfast was what you'd expect - decent enough continental breakfast (I enjoyed their coffee, it wasn't the nasty generic sludge you find at some places).
If there was one thing that I didn't really care for, it was the fact that their PCs were brand new and hadn't Microsoft Office (or Open Office), nor a PDF reader installed on them. I needed to print off some stuff for work and was left emailing the items to the hotel staff so they could print my documents. Overall the PC was just a minor inconvenience, though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainushotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I will be loading microsoft office next week onto the guest computers - I apologise that it was not available for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The staff was very accommodating for early check-in, great pool area to enjoy with family. Clean, comfortable,well-equipped room with separate bedroom area. Kitchenette well stocked with a Keurig coffee maker & coffee pods. The quality of the food at the hot breakfast buffet could be improved, however the selection was better than average compared to other continental breakfasts. Recommend for any family visiting Chemainus and definitely recommend taking in the live theatre at the Chemainus Theatre Festival!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainushotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I will look at the breakfast buffet to see if we can do better. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I've always had a great experience staying at a Best Western Plus with the family and this was no different. The staff were friendly and courteous and ensure my wife and I as well as my two young kids had a wonderful stay.

The hotel room was a two queen bed room. The beds were comfortable and the room itself was clean. No worries with the kids touching and playing everywhere in the room.

The breakfast was complimentary and was pretty good standard fare with your eggs, sausages, waffles, yogurt, cereal, fruit, etch. Everything you need to get your day started in the morning,

One thing to note, is from the highway it seems like in the middle of nowhere, but really that just makes sure that you have a good night sleep, there is no road noise at night.

If you happen to be in the area, this a great place to stay and is great value for the rate. I found it always best to book these hotels directly from the Best Western website

Room Tip: We had a higher level room floor but I think all rooms should be pretty quiet given the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EtownTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainushotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and advice to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chemainus
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
Address: 9573 Chemainus Rd, Chemainus, British Columbia V0R 1K5 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Chemainus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemainus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top choice among Vancouver Island hotels, the Chemainus Inn is a Best Western Plus hotel with suite-style rooms, and both 4 Green Key and CAA/AAA 3-Diamond ratings. During your stay our friendly staff will do whatever they can to cater to your every need. We offer a complimentary buffet breakfast, high-speed internet, indoor pool, hot tub, exercise centre, and convenient parking, plus many other amenities designed to keep you comfortable. Best of all, we offer a wide variety of Vancouver Island hotel packages that allow you to save money and get the most out of your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chemainus Hotel Chemainus
Best Western Chemainus
Chemainus Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing