We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is as good as it gets.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemainus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prince George
Level Contributor
109 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This place is as good as it gets.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I'm staying here for 3 nights while working at the fire department. The lobby entrance is inviting. The staff are happy and friendly. I stay at hotels well over 200 nights per year and staying in this place is as good as it gets. The parking is got. Easy access to the highway.
My room here is a good size. Very clean & comfortable.
"Well done Best Western Chemainus Inn".

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChemainusBC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Guest;

We thank you from the bottom of all of our hearts for your kind comments!

Our entire dedicated service team aims for perfection but it is comments like yours that let us know we achieve.

We are also grateful to Best Western corporate offoce who just awarded us with a Best Western Champion service award.

Thank you!!
Lou R
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    122
    22
    1
    0
See reviews for
140
214
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We booked this hotel as part of a Chemainus Theatre Package over the phone. We received no confirmation email etc.

On arrival, we waited quite a while for some service. When she tried to find our booking, she couldn't. When she finally figured out that the Theatre had not sent over our booking we eventually checked in. Given I had no confirmation of the booking I had nothing to show the girl that we had in fact booked & paid for the hotel. By then we had wasted 30 minutes and had to run up to our rooms, get changed, and then briskly walk to the theatre for dinner.

The rooms were very comfortable. New and spacious.

A hot breakfast was served downstairs which was very busy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TD191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChemainusBC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Dear previous guest.
So sorry! Thank you for your recent review related to your August Theatre booked Package stay. Please know that you can book your future theatre booking directly with the hotel for the same package deal/pricing.
As you stated the issue apparently was that the Theatre did not make the two night stay reservation with us at the hotel and most likely the hotel would have been booked solid and a quick fix wthout a conversation with the theatre might have been the reason for the apparent slow service.
We would love to have your name and look into the details of your reservation. Kindly email me at generalmanager@chemainushotel.com, it will allow us to try to track it down and give you specifics.

Our sincerest apologies for this theatre error, we hope you will give them and us an other opportinity to be of service, as you can see from other tripadvisor reviews your experience is not like us.
Sincerely Lou R GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Very attractive hotel - awesome free breakfast, one of the best I have ever had. If you are staying in Chemainus, this would be the place to stay! And it is a great town too - great restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskieMan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChemainusBC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear guests;
Thank you for your kind rating via this tripadvisor survey which I received today.
We are always asking the question "how can we make our service better?" and then
aiming to continue to improve.
Feedback from our guests is an important tool for us in evaluating our service and facilities.
Your positive observations are much appreciated.
Thank You!
Lou R
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

The mount Breton golf course is right next door. One of the most beautiful courses I've ever played. The full hot breakfast is great. No restaurant on site, but Duncan and ladysmith are only a few minutes away and the rooms have full kitchens with dishwashers. Staff was great. Rooms are large and very comfortable. We chose a balcony room, which gave a great way to enjoy the lovely evening and amazing sunrise. This is our second time here and we won't stay anywhere else when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanettemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChemainusBC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Wow! We feel so blessed as a hotel staff team to be getting such GREAT appreciative reviews from our guests. We are even getting a Best Western corporate award during the October convention in Florida. So hope we can keep living up to our guests expectations. Thank you!!!!!
Lou R
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We were looking for a hotel that was centrally located for touring the east side of Vancouver Island. We were also looking for a hotel that had a suite with 2 bedrooms. The Best Western Chemaimus was the perfect choice. Our 2 bedroom suite made it possible for our 2 adult daughters to stay with us. (Much cheaper than booking 2 rooms). In addition the suite included a kitchenette.

The morning breakfast fit all of our needs, from waffles to yogurt. There was even a huge bowl of fresh blueberries.

We used the pool. We enjoyed the piped in music. We felt like we were swimming in an Esther Williams musical.

I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie58466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChemainusBC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We feel so blessed as a hotel staff team to be getting such GREAT appreciative reviews from our guests. Thank you!!!!!
Lou R
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at this BW for our 22nd Anniversary & took the package which included the dinner theatre. We also took our Cairn Terriers with us. We had an exceptionally clean room, a great breakfast & very attentive & helpful staff.

Room Tip: We chose this place to stay since they accepted pets & the location was close to the theatre &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabra_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChemainusBC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We love our guests and certainly love pets.
We do not allow pets in all of our rooms just specific once.
Thank you for your kind comments, recommendation and tips.
Lou R
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We recently stayed at the Best Western Chemainus Inn for our son's wedding. We stayed at the hotel based on local recommendations and our own research and we were not disappointed. All the staff were friendly, helpful and did their best to make our stay memorable. We had a total of 10 rooms reserved for friends and family and I heard only positive comments about the rooms, excellent breakfasts and cheery staff. One of our friends commented that this was the best "Best Western" they had stayed at and I would agree.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HDVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChemainusBC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you very much for your review!
As you know positive word of mouth is vital to people thinking of booking any hotel.
We appreciate the time you took to write the above review!!
Lou R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chemainus
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
Address: 9573 Chemainus Rd, Chemainus, British Columbia V0R 1K5 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Chemainus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemainus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top choice among Vancouver Island hotels, the Chemainus Inn is a Best Western Plus hotel with suite-style rooms, and both 4 Green Key and CAA/AAA 3-Diamond ratings. During your stay our friendly staff will do whatever they can to cater to your every need. We offer a complimentary buffet breakfast, high-speed internet, indoor pool, hot tub, exercise centre, and convenient parking, plus many other amenities designed to keep you comfortable. Best of all, we offer a wide variety of Vancouver Island hotel packages that allow you to save money and get the most out of your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chemainus Hotel Chemainus
Best Western Chemainus
Chemainus Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing