We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my most enjoyable lunches”
Review of Dayliner Cafe

Dayliner Cafe
Ranked #14 of 37 Restaurants in Chemainus
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One of my most enjoyable lunches”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The great thing about this place is how it is just outside of Chemainus, on the old island highway north of town, in the community of Saltair. The community itself has its own charm with lots of parks and trails running through the community. There is even a pub just down the road and a grocery store a little farther down the way. A perfect seaside town.
The food here is delicious and creative and the atmosphere was excellent. There were options to sit inside or outside overlooking the gardens. The place was packed full of people, which is always a good sign. I loved my wrap, which was large and filling and justified the reasonable price. I look forward to stopping again. Make sure you make a special stop here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SKTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chemainus Ambience and Charm”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just minutes off the beaten path outside of Chemainus is this charming cafe filled with elegance, charm and great food. Spacious seating both inside and out, you have your choice of a comfy sofa, a table in the sun or shade and the quaintest little umbreallaed table in the garden beside a little pond.

Delicious wraps, gluten free cheesecake and specialty coffees are all a taste sensation. Whether just visiting or looking for a quiet place to spend time with a friend, this is definitely a must try!

Staff is also delightful, friendly and eager to please.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willowslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dayliner”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Small lunch tea/coffee offerings with all fresh ingredients and good service.

Setting is spacious and offers ability to enjoy the outside while shaded from the elements

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PolarBear526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Promise, but pricy”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are locals and very glad to see a new coffee shop. It was turned from a cement floored old garage facing the main road into a really pretty and attractive place to have a coffee or fresh baking. The girls were great and helpful, the outdoor seating very tastefully arranged.
Though I really loved all the atmosphere and the staff was friendly, I was shocked when the coffee, which was not overly large, did not have a refill price...just another $1.80!
I would like to point out to the new owners that if they do not have, like other coffee shops in the area, a refill price ($.60 is usual) they'd better not count on locals to shell out almost $4.00 per person for 2 6 oz. coffee cups. This is NOT Europe and we expect decent prices in order to stay and order anything else. Better take a small loss, if necessary, than to tell a customer that a refill is the price of a fill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is great new little cafe that we happened upon during our drive to chemainus. We are fairly local but were not aware of this new cafe so we stopped on our way back from Chemainus. It has a great indoor and outdoor atmosphere. We had a cappuccino and mocha coffee and they were excellent....we are coffee lovers. My husband and I split the Dayliner to eat and it was delicious made with what seemed from fresh ingredients. The girls were friendly so we will definitely be back and we are lucky to have this new stop local.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dayliner Cafe also viewed

Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Dayliner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing