We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience that revived my love of live theatre”
Review of Chemainus Theatre

Chemainus Theatre
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Chemainus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vancouver Island's Theatre Destination. We are a vibrant, established and fully professional theatre nestled in the seaside community of Chemainus, BC. We feature some of the finest performers and performances in Canada, Vancouver, and Vancouver Island. Enjoy theatre to the fullest, with our terrific complements: The Playbill Dining Room, with live music and show-themed buffet; and The Gallery Gift Shop, featuring the art of BC artisans.
saltspring island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent experience that revived my love of live theatre”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I have enjoyed at least five Getaway Packages at the Chemainus Theatre now. Always enjoyable and a lovely mini vacation. The theatre productions have been consistently good, very well done and in a very charming theatre space. The buffet dinner in the Playbill Restaurant is always scrumptious with very friendly service. The accommodation in the Best Western hotel is comfortable , usually with a very generous suite, and a good breakfast to top off the experience. These getaway packages have become a favourite way to celebrate birthdays in my family. Very good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shortykj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    76
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a treat to finish off the visit to Chemanius is to see the play and enjoy the dinner”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The dinner was well worth the price and convenient just before the play. We spent a long time in the gift shop attached to the play house as it had a wide selection of crafts and articles to buy. Each show is very well done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merrill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb theatre, delicious food and a fantastic valuable community organization to support!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have been to this theatre several times, and enjoyed every moment! The staff/volunteers are fabulous and always friendly and helpful. The food is really quite delicious, and they are very accommodating with dietary needs. The food/music in the dining room are set to the play as well, making it a well-rounded experience. I highly recommend doing the buffet and the show.
And the shows I've seen have been great - musicals, dramas, comedies, the whole lot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patio_Gardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Great shows wonderful food and great people!!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have been season ticket holders for 6+ years and could not imagine a year without Chemainus Theater. We have got our family and friends hooked. Got to try this wonderful theater experience!! A great night with family friends or as a romantic weekend away.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank vicki3024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is a new theatre for us .......”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a new theatre for us as we are new to the area and we liked it so much we decided to buy into all of the productions for the 2014 season.

The theatre and staff were fab!

Looking forward to the Christmas play "It's a Wonderful Life!"

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chemainus Theatre also viewed

Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Chemainus Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing