We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made a lucky choice and will return whenever we are in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Utopia Bakery Cafe

Utopia Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Chemainus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups, Dutch, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
vancouver
Level Contributor
275 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Made a lucky choice and will return whenever we are in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We parked at the North End of Chemainus near the grocery store, and decided we 'd walk until we found a restaurant we wanteto try. Well, Utopia was the first stop, and we decided it had everything we could possibly want: clean, delicious rye bread, great soup and sandwich, and if we bought coffee or tea, a free cookie. We could have tried everything in the bakery case. It reminded it of our recent trip in the Scandinavian countries with everyhing beautifully made, a friendly staff, samples of food, quick service, and going away satisfied. A+ place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beeperVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pender Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Selection of Pastries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a must if you are in Chemainus and want to stop for a snack or have a craving for european style pastries. Staff are friendly and there's a small outdoor area to sit and have a coffee.
Busy place reasonably priced and top quality product!

Visited February 2013
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gulfislandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Craftsmanship perfection and flavors in old time family Dutch bakery. Good soups too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Real sour dough and excellent Dutch baked treats. Had a very nice lunch with a great conversation on organic grains with the chief baker. What a nice surprise find this place is. Loved the Olie Bollen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayaker_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utopia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Best gluten free bread ever and their turnovers are to die for! They also have the best multi grain bread I have ever tried. Mmmm

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OMG... the bread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Chewy crust, rich, yeasty, soft, flavorful inside.. Warm their baguettes, or sourdough or any unsliced loaf in a hot oven, and serve this crusty bit of utopia to your forever impressed and grateful family and guests.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utopia Bakery Cafe also viewed

Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Utopia Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing