We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, at the edge of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Williams Lake Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Williams Lake
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great new hotel in Williams Lake. The room was decorated nicely and it was quiet. I loved the kitchenette in my room and the staff were great. The location is at the edge of town so not ideal for those who don't have a car and want to walk around Williams Lake.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 358 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our very first stay at any hotel in Williams Lake happened due to a successful bid on Priceline and we truly feel lucky that it was the Best Western. After reading many reviews from multiple sites, we felt the need to add our own experience to assist others looking for a wonderful place to stay in Williams Lake – whether that be for business or pleasure.

The hotel can be found just off main highway before entering Williams Lake, so you can’t miss it. The hotel still feels new even after a year and showcases a stylish new age décor. The view of the lake from the hotel is spectacular, even at night! The hotel is located approx. 5km from downtown Williams Lake (less than a 10 minute drive). On the same road, you will find the Laughlin Loon Pub, a liquor store, the tourist information centre and Super Save gas station all within walking distance.

Upon walking in the front doors, we entered a grand lobby that was decorated in beautiful fall colours since Halloween was only weeks away. This area was warm and inviting with a black marble natural gas fireplace being the centre point of the room. For those traveling with plenty of suitcases, the hotel does have two luggage trollies just to the left of the entrance available self-serve.

We were greeted by a very pleasant front desk attendant who was more than eager to assist and answer any questions we had about the hotel or Williams Lake itself. They offered free maps of the city as well as other activity brochures / local newspapers / restaurant suggestions closer to the entrance on the right. We were promptly checked into our pet-friendly room and given two keys without much of a wait or any hassles.

It’s important to note that the hotel has limited pet-friendly rooms available for an additional charge of $20 per night plus tax so it’s highly recommended that you make advance reservations if you are traveling with your furry family member. The additional fee is well worth the cost as each room has its own exit from the room directly to the pet area behind the hotel. A nice touch is that the hotel provides garbage cans outside your door so you have a proper place to dispose of pet waste. Take note that these doors will lock behind you and cannot be unlocked by your room key so your only alternative is to place something to stop the door from completely closing or walk around the hotel to the front entrance and back to your room. We would like to thank the attendant for pointing this out in advance.

One of our biggest concerns was parking for two main reasons – security and we were traveling with a 10’ trailer so needed the extra space to park. The attendant put our minds at ease quickly when she told us that all 3 parking areas were well lit, surveyed by security cameras and that the hotel has not have any theft issues since opening. We were directed to park in the largest lot to the right of the hotel – we found this lot had enough room to turn around easily and allowed the ability to park with our trailer still secured to our vehicle. We noted there were three other patrons that had parked the same way in the lot and there was still room to spare. While this option might not always be available in the busy summer months, it’s nice to know if you’re traveling in a motorhome or with a 5th wheel that you will have room to park.

The business centre is located straight across from the front desk and is open 7am – 8pm. This space offers computers with free internet access and a printer. Fax services are offered at the front desk. The hotel offers free WIFI access in your room and with staying on the first floor we both had no problem connecting even during peak hours. While we understand some have complained about issues with connectivity, it’s safe to assume that if you are on a higher floor or if a lot of people are connected at peak times that this would cause some problems.

The room was a sweet surprise boasting vaulted ceilings, kitchenette, sitting area, desk with faux leather chair, flat screen television, air conditioner, bathroom amenities including hair dryer and a luxurious bed with linens that everyone raves about with very good reason. The room was clean and offered maximum comfort. The kitchenette supplied its own microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, ice bucket and sink. Our only complaint about the room would be the poor insulation – particularly coming from the door. You can hear conversations in the hallway and doors closing. With the hotel being located on the highway, we are happy to report that we didn’t hear any traffic noise – though our room was located on the back side of the hotel.

On the main floor, the hotel has its own heated pool, hot tub and fitness room which is open from 7am – 10pm. Sadly we were not staying at the hotel long enough to use these facilities though saw others enjoying them to the fullest.

Another point to rave about is the hotel’s complimentary breakfast. The hotel opens the doors as early as 5:30am and offers a wide variety of cold and warm breakfast options including cold cereals, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, muffins, yogurt, fruit salad, toast, english muffins, bagels – even waffles! Beverages include tea, coffee, milk, orange or apple juice. We would recommend if you are not in a rush to leave in the morning to hit breakfast after 7am when the breakfast attendant starts there shift. While it might be a little busier, they bring out the scrambled eggs and hash browns that are worth the wait!

Speaking on food, while many reviews had negative things to say about the Laughing Loon Pub which is located next door to the hotel - we opted to try it for ourselves and make our own decision. We received a friendly upbeat greeting upon entering and were promptly seated in a booth next to the front window that has a beautiful view of the lake. The pub has unique décor that makes for great conversation. We shared a plate of calamari for an appetizer. Each had an alcoholic beverage - my husband would like to point out they have the best Caesars he has had in a long time (so he had a second). For main entrees, we both had different burgers and would like to warn that the portions served are LARGE so come hungry! We did have a longer than normal wait for our main entrees that some would point out as being a negative, but being that we were there during peak dinner hour on a Friday night, this wasn’t a bother for us as it was nice to rest between servings. Overall we thought the décor, friendly service and food was great – slightly pricier than other pubs we have visited in the past ($73 for two people including tip), but we would definitely eat here again.

We were so pleased with our primary stay that we ended up staying at this hotel a second time on our return trip home and enjoyed the same wonderful experience. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone – family, friends or strangers – as you won’t be disappointed. We have a return trip planned for next year and look forward to staying here again ourselves.

Room Tip: Great hotel for those traveling with furry family members!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandFoxyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rooms are just clean and soo comfortable, after a long trip heading home to california, it nice to find a comfortable place to sleep. We are Best Western members and this one was pleasure to stay at. Staff wonderful and breakfast was hot and tatsy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harjinder N, Manager at Best Western Williams Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable. They had obviously been recently redone with new plush carpets and a fresh coat of paint. Bathrooms were small but standard. The beds had clean sheets and new pillows. All of the machines in the gym facilities other than one bike were not in working order.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Aquavan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harjinder N, Manager at Best Western Williams Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us what you enjoyed and didn't about our hotel thus making the necessary changes.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked in fairly early on the 18th and had a wonderful gal at the front desk...a little noisy but we could handle that.... Went to have a wonderful (yeah right) breakfast with our granddaughter and were very disappointed...not much on the "table" to offer...will let our friends know not to stay there

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandyBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harjinder N, Manager at Best Western Williams Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you were treated kindly by our staff.
The breakfast has gotten numerous compliments and we do offer quite a variety (cereals, fresh fruits, fruit salads, oatmeal, pastries etc.) considering it is only a continental breakfast even adding in hot items. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast but hope you choose to stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a relief to find such a pet-friendly hotel where the pet rooms are super clean and the beds are very comfortable !!!
We traveled with our large sheepdog and stayed 2 nights in a room on the main floor. It had 2 queen beds plus ample space for us all the move around. A nice feature was the additional exterior door that opened onto a grassy area behind the hotel, where we could take the dog. Excellent breakfast in the morning in a nicely laid out dining room. In additional to the usual continental breakfast items, there were 2 additional hot dishes as well as a waffle maker. Location is right off the highway, very easy to find. We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: when traveling with a pet you will get a room on the main floor. Ask for a room as far away as possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garden-witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harjinder N, Manager at Best Western Williams Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your joyous review,
We are so glad that you were able to enjoy all we had to offer during your stay at our hotel.

We hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is right on the highway, hard to miss. The room I got was nice and big and clean. The front desk service was efficient and friendly. The breakfast was varied, lots of hot and cold choices and included in the room cost. The wi fi connection was a little sketchy but better than some others I have been in. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harjinder N, Manager at Best Western Williams Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your response,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams Lake hotels
2.1 mi away
Coast Fraser Inn
Coast Fraser Inn
#2 of 8 in Williams Lake
243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Williams Lake
Ramada Williams Lake
#4 of 8 in Williams Lake
199 reviews
2 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Williams Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Drummond Lodge
The Drummond Lodge
#6 of 8 in Williams Lake
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Williams Lake BC
Super 8 Williams Lake BC
#3 of 8 in Williams Lake
278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Motel
Lakeside Motel
#3 of 5 in Williams Lake
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Williams Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Williams Lake Hotel

Address: 1850 Broadway Ave S, Williams Lake, British Columbia V2G 5G8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Williams Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Williams Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Williams Lake
Price Range: $103 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Williams Lake Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Williams Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing